answersLogoWhite

0

The official formula for on-base percentage is (Hits + Walks + Hit by pitch) / (At-bats + Walks + Hit by pitch + sacrifice flies).

Reaching base on an error goes against your BA and OBP, as it doesn't count as a hit but counts as an at bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

CoachCoach
Success isn't just about winning—it's about vision, patience, and playing the long game.
Chat with Coach
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
More answers

For on-base percentage, it still counts as an at bat and the hitter is not credited with an 'on base' so whether its an error or a fielder's choice the player's on-base percentage will decrease

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Yes, reaching base on an error counts as an at-bat so the batting average would go down. However, if you reach base due to a base hit and the fielder makes an error which allows you to advance an extra base, you are still credited with a hit which would make your batting average go up.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

No, it is not considered a base hit, and it is not recored as a hit in the official scoring.

The only time it would be considered a hit is if you would have made it to base anyway, but any error on the play allowed you to advance bases, however you would only get credit for a single, not a double if you ended up on 2nd.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No. Only hits, walks, and times hit-by-pitch improve a hitter's OBP.

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago
User Avatar

No. Reaching base due to the uncaught third strike rule, an error, or fielder's choice does not increase on base percentage but decreases it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago
User Avatar

Reaching on an error does not count as a hit. However, it does count as an at bat and therefore is recorded as a statistic.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
User Avatar

NO... the answer is in your question... if its an ERROR how can it be a hit ... If the batter hits into a fielder choice then there to its not a hit ...

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

NO.. its not a hit ... its a ERROR ...

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does reaching base on an error count as a hit?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp