answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-20 16:25:26
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Does a sac fly count as an at bat?

No, a sacrifice fly does not count as an official at-bat, in order to have an at-bat scored as a sac fly though a runner must advance home safely on your fly ball


In baseball does a sacrifice count as an at bat?

According to MLB rule 10.01.a.1 only a sacrifice bunt or fly out does not count as an at-bat. A ground out counts a an at-bat


Does a sac fly count on your batting ave?

No. Neither a sacrifice fly nor a sacrifice bunt count as an official time at bat.


Does an error count as an at bat?

Yes an error counts as an at bat, but not a hit. You would be 0 for 1 on the play, but your on base percentage goes up because you have reached base safely. Errors can be committed on sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. If the official scorer rules a play a sacrifice bunt/fly and an error, the batter is not charged with a time at bat. On base percentage goes down when reaching base on an straight error.


Does a sac fly count in batting average?

No. A sacrifice fly does not count in batting average. It is as if the at bat never occured although you will get credit for any runs batted in that may have resulted from the sacrifice fly.


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


Does a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

NO, JUST LIKE WALKS OR HIT-BY-PITCHES DON'T


If a batter hit a fly ball that was caught out but scored a RBI does it count as an at bat?

Sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies are not officially counted as "at bats".


Does a pop fly count as an at bat?

Yes, a pop fly counts as an at bat.


What is SAC in scoring baseball?

A sacrifice fly or when a batter flies out and a runner tags up and scores this doesnt count as an at bat


Does a called Infield Fly count as an at bat?

yes, the batter is charged with an at bat on an infield fly


Does a strike out count as an at bat in fast pitch softball?

Yes. At bats are counted pretty much identically to baseball. Thing that would result in no at bat would be: walk, hit by pitch, sacrifice fly, sacrifice bunt.


Is sac fly an at bat?

A sac fly does not count as an at bat. same with a sac bunt, hit by pitch and a walk


Does a sacrifice fly affect on base percentage?

A sacrifice fly is scored as "no time at bat".


Does reaching base on a sacrifice count as an at bat?

If you reach base on a sacrifice then you've either reached base by a legal hit (an AB) or an error. For example: 1. You are trying to advance your base runner to 2nd by way of bunting but when you bunt it ends up being a legitimate single. It's scored an a 1B and an at-bat. It counts as a PA and your OBP is 1 for 1 in this instance. 2. Reaching base on a sac fly (attempt) but the fielder drops the pop fly. So, in reality you reach base via a fielding error. It's no sacrifice rather R/E therefore goes against your BA and OBP - yes it's an at bat.


What two baseball terms share the same first name but neither count as an official at-bat?

What two 2-word baseball terms share the same first name, but neither count as an official at-bat? sacrifice fly andsacrifice bunt


Is a sacrifice ball hit caught in foul territory counted as an at bat?

No. As long as it still acted as a sacrifice fly, the at bat would could like a regular at bat. A sacrifice fly would mean that a runner would have to score as a result of the hit.


When did the sacrifice fly stop going against your batting average?

A sacrifice bunt or fly has never been considered an at-bat.


Is a batter charged an official at-bat when he hits a Sacrifice Fly?

no


Which mammalsn can fly?

the bat and that's it unless u count the gliding squirrel


What does SAC stand for in Baseball box score?

Sacrifice. Either a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly. Neither counts as an at bat.


Runner advances a base on a fly ball but not from third Sac or not?

no it is not a sacrifice- just a regular at bat and fly out


Is it scored a sacrifice fly if you move a runner up but don' t score him?

AnswerNo. Unless the runner scores, it is NOT a sacrafice fly. If a batter flies out while a runner is on either 1st or 2nd base, tags up and advances to the next base, it is simply ruled as a flyout with the runner advancing, and the "at bat" will still be charged to the batter. A sacrafice fly scores the runner after he tags up, the batter does not get charged with an "at bat", and he also gets credit for a run batted in (RBI).I disagree. If a batter bunts and the runner advances, it is a sacrifice. So it would stand to reason that if you fly out, and the runner advances, then it would be as well.To Above:It's not a matter of disagreeing, it's a matter of MLB rules as designated by the rulebook. A sacrifice fly is not the same as a sacrifice bunt, a hit is only a sacrifice fly if the runner can tag and score. The reason being that a sacrifice fly is not scored as an official at-bat due to it's strategic value, thus it doesn't count against your batting average; since it's impossible to determine whether or not a batter is going long for strategy, or just swinging for the bleachers, you thus only get the sacrifice if the runner scores, all other fly-balls count against your average. A bunt is far more obvious in it's intent to move a runner, thus a bunt that moves a runner is a sacrifice.


If a baseball player got 56 hits out of 100 at bats what fraction and percentage of times at bat did the player not get a hit?

First of all, if a batter gets 56 hits out of 100 at bats he is batting .560! Rock on!! This means 11/25 or 44% of the time, he did not get a hit. (Remember that in realistic situation, figuring this would be much more complex. Some events while batting, such as a walk or a sacrifice, do not count as an at bat, where an error actually counts as an at bat without a hit. If a player came to the plate 5 times in a game and went: 1B, Error at 3rd reaching safely, Sacrifice Fly, Walk, Strike out; that player would would not be 2 for 5, but actually 1 for 3) Great answer...RAW.