answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Advancing on a passed ball does not count as a stolen base unless runner was already in the act of stealing the base, in that case it is a stolen base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-03 20:42:56
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In fastpitch softball does it count as a stolen base when the runner advances on a pass ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Fastpitch Softball is the following scored as a stolen base- Runners on 1st and 3rd runner on first attempts to steal 2nd catcher throws hard to pitcher to trick runner on 3rd to go is it steal of 2nd?

No stolen base awarded as the stolen base was uncontested.


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes


What is steal in baseball?

Stealing is the same thing as a stolen base in baseball/softball. It is when there is a person on 1st, 2nd, or 3rd and they run to the next base while the pitcher is in the middle of their pitch. If the runner advances to the next base without being thrown out by the catcher, then they have stolen that base.


What does SB stand for in softball stats?

SB means stolen bases in softball and baseball stats.


What does SBA stand for in softball stats?

Stolen base average


Can the pitcher throw to a fielder not on the base to get a runner out?

In Major League Baseball, all Pitchers are allowed to throw to their infielders in an attempt to get a runner out (also known as a pickoff attempt) and the infielder does not have to be standing on the base in order to get the runner out because it is not considered a forced play which means the fielder has to tag the runner out before he is able to either return to the base that he previously occupied or advances to the next base on a stolen base attempt.


What is defense indeference in baseball?

Defensive indifference:The official scorer shall not score a stolen base when a runner advances solely because of the defensive team's indifference to the runner's advance. The official scorer shall score such a play as a fielder's choice.Rule 10.07(g) Comment: The scorer shall consider, in judging whether the defensive team has been indifferent to a runner's advance, the totality of the circumstances, including the inning and score of the game, whether the defensive team had held the runner on base, whether the pitcher had made any pickoff attempts on that runner before the runner's advance, whether the fielder ordinarily expected to cover the base to which the runner advanced made a move to cover such base, whether the defensive team had a legitimate strategic motive to not contest the runner's advance or whether the defensive team might be trying impermissibly to deny the runner credit for a stolen base. For example, with runners on first and third bases, the official scorer should ordinarily credit a stolen base when the runner on first advances to second, if, in the scorer's judgment, the defensive team had a legitimate strategic motive-namely, preventing the runner on third base from scoring on the throw to second base-not to contest the runner's advance to second base. The official scorer may conclude that the defensive team is impermissibly trying to deny a runner credit for a stolen base if, for example, the defensive team fails to defend the advance of a runner approaching a league or career record or a league statistical title.


In fast pitch baserunner is stealing on pitch but the ball gets away from catcher does the base runner stealing get credit for stolen base?

yes, the base runner stealing does get credit for the stolen base.


If a pinch runner comes into a game and steals a base Who gets the credit for the steal?

The pinch runner gets credit for the stolen base, and for any run he might score.


Is it scored as a fielders choice if the infield attempt to throw the runner at second out is unsuccessful?

Nope. It's a stolen base.


Can a runner on second base steal 3rd base on ball four?

Yes, unless there are runners on both 1st and 2nd bases. In that case, the runner from second is awarded third - it is not stolen.


What is the meaning of a stolen base in baseball or softball?

if your on a base and the ball leaves the pitchers hands you can run to the next base. that's called stealing the base

People also asked