answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ...

It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-27 16:21:11
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)


What is the third strike drop rule?

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base. HOpe this helps :)


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first?

yes in major leagues. im not sure about other leagues. if the batter gets a strike three he may try to go to first but the catcher will attempt to throw him out. it is best to do this play on a third strike that the catcher drops or fumbles. this type of play is rrare


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


How can a pitcher make 4 strikeouts in one inning?

if on one of the strike outs the catcher drops the ball and the batter reaches first base safely the out does not count


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


Catcher drops a third strike and overthrows first baseball rolls past left field foul pole out of play Where should the batter who struck out be?

Second base.


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


In baseball is a batter out if the catcher drops a third strike and the batter does not realize it was a dropped ball until he is almost to the dugout and then runs safely to first?

Once the player has headed for the dugout he can be considered out. However, if the umpire has not called the batter out yet, then he is still in play.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


Is the pitcher credited with a strike out if the catcher drops ball on third strike?

yes, so as a result it is possible to strike out four batters in an inning


In softball what is the rule for drop 3rd strike?

First of all, I'm assuming you are referring to fast pitch softball. the rule is that the batter is automatically out with a third strike ball is not caught by the catcher AND when first base is occupied AND there are less than two outs. The runners are not forced to advance but they can run at their own risk. If they do choose to run, a tag is required since this is not a force play. If the catcher drops the third strike, the batter can run to first base. But, the catcher can throw to first and get them out. This rule does not apply if there is a runner on first already, the batter just gets out.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


Five ways to get on base without hitting the ball?

Depending on what it means to "get on base" (in the game of baseball) without hitting the ball, I suggest the following ways: 1. As a batter, get a "base on balls." 2. As a batter, be hit by a pitch. 3. As a batter, strike out, the catcher drops the third strike (or misses it completely), the batter runs to first base before the catcher (or other fielder) can retrieve the ball "throw him out" at first base. 4. As a batter, during a swung-on pitch the bat comes in contact with any part of the catcher or his/her equipment. This is most commonly the catcher's mitt. 5. Be substituted as a runner for another player who has already "gotten on base."


Does batter get RBI if runner scores from third on 3 strikes catcher drops ball?

Yes


In baseball can you make an error on a foul ball?

Yes. For example, if the batter pops up into foul territory behind the catcher, the catcher can be scored for an error if he gets under the ball, the ball drops into his glove, but he then drops the ball. The batter gets another chance to bat, but no matter what happens later in his at-bat, the run will be unearned due to the catcher's error.


Does batter have to swing at third strike to be eligible to advance on dropped pitch?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


If a batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter makes his way safely to first base how is that play entered onto a scorecard?

e 2


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.