it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base.
HOpe this helps :)
Chat with our AI personalities
It speaks to the necessity of the defending team to maintain control of a ball in play. Actually, logic does have a lot to do with it. You have to complete the play in Baseball. That's one of the oldest rules. The catcher has to control the ball, or it is in play. The fielders have to control the ball on the catch, or the ball is in play. The rule is one of the oldest in baseball, predating the "walk" or "base on balls." Before the existence of the walk, batters were not compelled to swing at pitchers as they are today. (In fact, there once was a time when batters could tell the pitcher to throw the ball high or low.) After the second strike, however, umpires could declare a subsequent pitch "good," which would compel the batter to swing at the next potentially good pitch. (In other words, he was given one warning!) After two strikes, if a batter "stuck at" a good pitch -- that is, if he swung at it and missed -- or if he failed to swing at a good pitch after having been warned, the batter was declared out. It was called a "hand out." If, however, the catcher failed to hold on to the ball, it was as if the batter put the ball in play. Oddly enough, "striking out" was as good as putting the ball in play if the catcher failed to hold on to the ball. The old rule books said as much. When I find a link to an archaic rule book, I'll post it. The logic was -- and still is -- that the defense must be in control of the ball when retiring a batter or base runner.
Anytime the ball hits the dirt on a 3rd strike it is considered a "dropped 3rd strike", even if it is executed as the pitcher and catcher wanted (ie. curveball in the dirt). On a dropped 3rd strike, the batter can try and advance by running to 1st base, as with any runner, the defensive team will need to tag the batter out or throw to 1st base. If the runner walks to the dugout, the umpire can call him outon his disgression.
The dropped 3rd strike rule does not apply if there is a runner on 1st base with less then 2 outs. If there are 2 outs, all runners required to run would be forced to advance and be safe for this rule to apply
First of all, I'm assuming you are referring to fast pitch softball. the rule is that the batter is automatically out with a third strike ball is not caught by the catcher AND when first base is occupied AND there are less than two outs. The runners are not forced to advance but they can run at their own risk. If they do choose to run, a tag is required since this is not a force play. If the catcher drops the third strike, the batter can run to first base. But, the catcher can throw to first and get them out.
This rule does not apply if there is a runner on first already, the batter just gets out.
Second-life. An opportunity to run from the batter's box to First Base before the catcher can gather the ball and throw it to First. A tag on the runner is not required, merely touching the base while holding the ball. A dropped third strike provides a chance to turn an out into an on-base situation, thereby prolonging the inning, often a momentum changer.
Because that is the rule- You'd have to ask the old timers that wrote the rule book??? It does give a batter a little life and a second chance after "nearly" striking out.
it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base.
HOpe this helps :)