answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

if the out would be the third no, it is up to the descrestion of the scorekeeper for example, if there was a runner on third with one out and you bunted the and the third baseman overthrew first, then it would be an rbi, but if the second baseman missed the throw to the first baseman with two outs, then there would be no rbi

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-14 22:26:29
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you get a rbi when batter is safe by a fielding error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the batter get an RBI for runs scored due to a fielding error on a ball the batter put in to play?

No. Runs scored directly from a fielding error do not have RBIs.


Do you get an rbi on an error?

No. An RBI is not awarded on an error. A fielder's choice, a sacrifice, a walk with the bases loaded or a hit. That's about it. A fielding error does not warrant an RBI.


Is a batter awarded an RBI if a runner on 3rd scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

No, a WP or PB is similar to a fielding error. No RBI is awarded (unless the WP was ball 4 with the bases loaded, in which case the batter gets one RBI).


Does the batter get an RBI if there's an error?

He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.


Does a batter get a RBI if he gets on base by a error of a fielder?

No.


Does batter get RBI If runner he drives in got on by error?

yes


Does a batter get credited with an RBI if he hits into an error and a run scores?

no


What is the criteria to get an RBI on a groundout?

A batter gets an RBI if his groundout scored a runner. The only exception is if the batter hit into a double play, in which case no RBI is given. Of course if the runner scored on an error, and not on the groundout, there is also no RBI.


If a batter reaches 1st base on an error and a runner scores because of her hit does she earn an rbi even though she received a base because of an error?

Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.


Can you earn an RBI on a pass ball?

No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.


Does a batter get an RBI if he hits in a runner that got on base due to an error?

Yes!


Does the batter get an RBI if he reaches on an error?

yes if a run crosses at all it is a RBI for someone This is not always true. For instance, no RBI is awarded if the batter hits into a double play, even though a run crosses.


If there is a baserunner on third and the batter hits a ground ball which the fielder makes an error on does the batter get credit for an RBI?

That would likely depend on the circumstances involved before the error occurred meaning if there were no outs or only 1 out then he would get a RBI no matter what but if there's 2 outs then he likely wouldn't get a RBI.


Does a dropped Ball by the Outfielder with the Bases Loaded count as an RBI?

No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.


Does a batter get credit for an RBI on an infield ground ball when he is thrown out at first with the bases loaded and a run scores?

Yes, The Batter is counted an RBI for every run he bats in regardless of whether he was safe or not.


Are there any circumstances by which a batter that reaches base due to an error can get an RBI?

yes, for example with a runner on 3rd with less than 2 out, if he hits a ball deep enough to be a sacrifice fly but the outfielder drops it, the batter will get an RBI because he would have got one without the error


Do you get an RBI if you reach on an error?

Usually, no. But the scorer may award an RBI if, in his or her judgment, the run would have scored even had the out been made. One example might be a routine, but deep, fly ball, where the runner would have scored even if the catch had been made. I think you might be asking this question the wrong way: If a run scores BECAUSE OF an error, then you don't get an RBI. However, it's entirely plausible to get an RBI on a play in which you reach on an error, as above, or an RBI groundout in which the runner would have scored from 3rd but the batter should have been retired. The question of whether you get the RBI is not a matter of whether the BATTER reaches via error, but whether the guy who scores, SCORES because of the error.


Does a batter get an rbi if he reaches on error?

No, RBIs are not awarded to a batter if he ROE (reached on error) and it would be listed as an unearned run for the pitcher. An RBI can be awarded at the discretion of the scorekeeper if the scorekeeper feels the run would have scored regardless of the error. For example a runner is on 3rd base with 1 out and the batter hits a fly to deep center. The outfielder drops the fly ball allowing the batter to be awarded with a sac fly reach on error and an RBI... If there were 2 outs in this situation no RBI would be awarded. Runner on 3rd ball hit to shortstop and the shortstop boots it or throws it away and it is the scorers discretion if the run would have scored anyways on the play, if less than 2 outs. If 2 outs then no RBI


How many ways can a batter be credited with an RBI?

A batter can be credited with an RBI for every run that scores because of his hit, sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out, fielder's choice, walk, and when he is awarded first base because of a hit by pitch, interference, or obstruction. If there are fewer than two outs, a batter can also be credited with an RBI after having reached on an error, so long as the run scored on the play was not a result of the error.


Does a walk count as a RBI?

Yes, if a batter is walked with the bases loaded the batter is credited with an RBI.


Would a batter get credit for an RBI if there is and error by the fielder and a runner scores?

no, unless the official scorer feels that the run would have scored even without the error


If one gets on base by an error and scores on a hit by another batter does that batter get a RBI?

Of course. They did Bat you in to score. How you got on base to begin with doesn't matter.


Does a batter get an RBI on a walk in baseball?

I dont think it is a RBI Yes, the batter does get an RBI on a walk with the bases loaded. http://www.baseball1.com/faqs/scoring_and_awards.html


First batter gets on via error question if the next player up knocks him in does this batter get credit for an RBI and does the first guy get credit for the run scored?

Yes they get the credit


If there is a runner on third base and the pitcher throws a wild pitch does the batter receive an RBI is it scored as a WP with an RBI or just a WP?

it is scored a wp the batter doesn't get RBI

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide