answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. An RBI is not awarded on an error. A fielder's choice, a sacrifice, a walk with the bases loaded or a hit. That's about it. A fielding error does not warrant an RBI.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-02-22 05:23:29
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Do you get an rbi on an error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does the batter get an RBI if there's an error?

He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.


Does a batter get a RBI if he gets on base by a error of a fielder?

No.


Does batter get RBI If runner he drives in got on by error?

yes


Does a batter get credited with an RBI if he hits into an error and a run scores?

no


What is the criteria to get an RBI on a groundout?

A batter gets an RBI if his groundout scored a runner. The only exception is if the batter hit into a double play, in which case no RBI is given. Of course if the runner scored on an error, and not on the groundout, there is also no RBI.


Do you get an RBI if you reach on an error?

Usually, no. But the scorer may award an RBI if, in his or her judgment, the run would have scored even had the out been made. One example might be a routine, but deep, fly ball, where the runner would have scored even if the catch had been made. I think you might be asking this question the wrong way: If a run scores BECAUSE OF an error, then you don't get an RBI. However, it's entirely plausible to get an RBI on a play in which you reach on an error, as above, or an RBI groundout in which the runner would have scored from 3rd but the batter should have been retired. The question of whether you get the RBI is not a matter of whether the BATTER reaches via error, but whether the guy who scores, SCORES because of the error.


Does a batter get an RBI if he hits in a runner that got on base due to an error?

Yes!


Does the batter get an RBI if he reaches on an error?

yes if a run crosses at all it is a RBI for someone This is not always true. For instance, no RBI is awarded if the batter hits into a double play, even though a run crosses.


Is a home run an rbi?

Yes. Any time your at bat and a run scores without an error, wildpitch, or hitting into a double play it is considered and RBI.


If there is a baserunner on third and the batter hits a ground ball which the fielder makes an error on does the batter get credit for an RBI?

That would likely depend on the circumstances involved before the error occurred meaning if there were no outs or only 1 out then he would get a RBI no matter what but if there's 2 outs then he likely wouldn't get a RBI.


Does a dropped Ball by the Outfielder with the Bases Loaded count as an RBI?

No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.


Can you earn an RBI on a pass ball?

No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.

People also asked