answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

As long as the pitcher doesn't catch the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-09-26 01:09:29
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the batter run if his hit actually hits the pitcher?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a pitcher pitches and the ball does not hit the groundand the batter does not swing but ball bounces off catchers mitt and hits batter why isn't that a walk?

The only way a hit-by-pitch walk can be recorded is if the batter is actually hit by the pitcher. Once another defensive player has touched the ball it is no longer the pitcher's responsibility.


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


Pitcher throws ball and ball hits ground first bounces up and batter hits it. is this a hit?

No. You fool.


When a baseball pitcher gives up hits what does that mean?

It means that when the pitcher threw the ball the batter hit the ball into the field of play and was credited with a base hit.


What is the meaning of getting beaned in baseball?

To hit someone in the face with the ball when you try to have them hit it. The pitcher pitches and the ball hits the batter.


What does h mean for a pitcher in box score?

Hits. A Hit is scored when a batter safely makes it to first base.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


Can the runner advance on a bounced pitch that hits the batter?

As long as the pitcher is the last person to touch the ball before the batter is hit, the ball becomes dead and is counted as a hit by pitch. The runners can only advance if they are forced over by the hit batter.


If a pitcher throws a ball that hit the dirt and the batter swings and hits it is a fair ball?

It Is Fair As Long As The Batter Swings And They Hit The Ball... As Long As It Is Inside The Foul Lines The Ball Is In Play.


The Pitcher throws towards home plate. the ball bounces in the dirt before home plate and it hits the batter is it a dead ball or hit batter?

It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


If a batter is hit by a pitch after the ball hits his bat while trying to get out of the way of the pitch and not swinging or bunting at it does the batter go to first base?

No. If the ball hits the batter's bat first there can be no call of hit by pitched ball. Added: It is actually a foul ball and a strike.

People also asked