answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, but if he doesn't swing at the pitch, it would be a Ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-06 04:12:17
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the batter hit a pitched ball that hits the ground before crossing home plate?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a pitched ball hit the ground before it crosses home plate?

A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.


Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


If a pitched ball in fastpitch softball hits the ground and then hits the batter does the batter get awarded a base?

Yes


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


Is a pitched ball that hits the ground before reaching the batter considered to be a dropped third strike?

In MLB, yes. MLB Rule 6.05(b) states that a batter is out when "A third strike is legally caught by the catcher" with the added comment "'Legally caught' means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground".


Can a batter hit a pitch if it hits the ground first?

Yes, a ball doesn't become dead just because it hits the grown before crossing the plate. If it is hit, then the ball is in play.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


Can it be a strike to swing at a ground ball?

A pitched ball that touches the ground is a live ball. If the batter swings and misses, it is a strike. If the batter swings and hits the ball, it is treated as any other hit ball.


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


What is the ruling when the pitched ball is hit then hits the catcher's mitt and falls to the ground?

if the cathcer is too close, a cather interference, if the batter is too far back, a batter interference


If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.

People also asked