Yes, unless there are runners on both 1st and 2nd bases. In that case, the runner from second is awarded third - it is not stolen.
You can block any base as long as you have the ball, if you do not have the ball you can be called for interference and the runner can have the base.
Either the second basemen or the short stop in responsible for covering second when a runner is trying to steal.
Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.
Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.
No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.
nothing if you leave early you better hope the pitcher pitches the ball and doesn't see you steal.
When the ball is in play, a base runner can always ATTEMPT to advance to the next base. He is allowed to advance to next base if the ball was badly thrown during an attempted steal of an earlier base. Note that, if the outfielder throws the ball to third base and the third baseman tags the runner before he gets to third base, the runner is out -- just like any other attempt to "steal" a base.
No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.
In most American baseball and softball leagues, the ball is still live when a player is walked. Unless the catcher or pitcher ask for a time-out, the runner can attempt to steal second base. It's actually a good play, especially when there's another runner on base.
You certainly may. A base-runner may leave the bag as soon as the pitcher releases the ball.
These are terms from baseball. To 'steal' is to advance one or more bases in a situation where the ball has not been hit: where someone has mishandled the ball, or during a pitch. A 'slide' is what players use when as a base runner they approach a base guarded by a defending player who has or is expected to shortly have the ball. If the defending player touches the runner before he touches the base, the runner is out, so the runner slides, usually foot first, toward the base, in an effort to get past the defender before he can be tagged.
If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.