answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter/runner is contacted by a fair ball when they are out of the box they are out and the ball is dead thus no runners can advance. Given this the answer to you question is no they can not score.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-12 23:15:49
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner on 3rd score when a batter hits ball in fair play in front of plate and is out when ball hits her?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When is it interference by the batter with the catcher when a runner from third base is trying to score?

When the batter is standing on the plate.


When a batter hits a grand slam how many runs score?

4 Runs score. The Batter, The runner on 1st, The Runner on 2nd and the runner on 3rd.


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


Does the runner score from third if batter tries to stretch a single and gets thrown out at second base?

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.


If the bases are loaded with one out and the batter hits a ground ball - which hits his runner who is going from 1st to 2nd - does the runner on third advance to score?

I would say the runner is called out (would be Out #2) and the runner on third could advance to score. However, if there were two outs, the runner would be called out (Out #3) and therefore, the runner on 3rd would not be able to score (unless of course he crossed home plate before the runner got hit by the ground ball, then it would count)


If a batter hits the ball but the runner on third is tagged out how do you score the batter?

I assume you mean if you're score keeping and not saying "How would the batter who becomes a runner be able to score a run on the play." If you're referring to score keeping I believe you would just note that the batter reach first base as a result of the fielders choice by 3Bman. FC - 5.


Are there any exceptions where a run scores on a play in which the third out is made?

Yes. If a runner crosses home plate before the third out is made (unless it's a force out), the run counts. For example, say the Yankees have runner on third with two outs. The batter hits a ball to the gap in right center. The runner scores, but the batter is thrown out at third trying to stretch a double into a triple. Since the runner on third crossed home plate before the batter was out at third, the run counts. On a force play (at any base) the runner would not be allowed to score even if he crosses the plate before the force is made.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


Is it legal in MLB for a runner to jump over the catcher to score at home plate?

Yes.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


How do you score a runner being hit by a batted ball?

I am unsure in the scorebook, however the runner is out and the batter is oddly awarded a base hit.


Do you score a run when a defensive player crosses home plate in baseball?

No, only an offensive player can score a run, and they must be in order. If one runner passes another runner, he's out.


What is a sacrifice play in softball?

A sacrific is when a batter bunts to try to score the runner on third to score the winning run or tie the game.


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


Does the run count if it is made before an out is called?

A run counts if the runner crossed the plate legally and before the third out. If the runner crosses the plate even a half-second before the third out is tagged on the basepaths, then the run counts. If the out is made a half-second before the runner crosses the plate, then the run does not count. One exception is that with two outs the runner cannot score until all forced runners have reached their bases safely. That is, if the batter-runner is thrown out at first even after the runner crossed the plate, then the run does not count. Same thing if a runner is thrown out at second or third base (on a force-play only).


What is an sacrifice fly in softball?

A sacrifice fly in softball is when they batter sacrifices themselves (meaning they are getting an out) to score the runner or to move the runner into scoring position.


What is a home plate collision?

A home plate collision is usually the case of a base runner that was on one of the bases trying to reach home plate in order to score while the other team's Catcher is trying to block home plate in order to prevent the base runner from touching home plate in an effort to prevent a run from scoring and the runner and the base runner usually slides into the Catcher that is blocking home plate which is what one example of a home plate collision is.


Does a run score on a fielders choice when a runner crosses home plate before the force out is recorded?

If the third out is a force play or a fly out, a run can not score, no matter how soon a runner crosses home before that third out. If the batter hits the ball over the outfielder's head with runners on first and third, and the runner on first constantly slips and falls as he runs to second, the fact that the batter got to first and the runner on third got home several seconds before the runner going to second was forced out, is just too bad. It's still a force out, and no run scores.


If a batter hits a game winning home run but never crosses the plate is he out?

If the walk off home run scores another runner that was already on base and that was the run to win it then there is no need for him to cross the plate and he is not called out. For example, in a tie game with the bases loaded if the batter hits a home run the only run that needs to cross the plate is the runner on third. Once that runner crosses the game is over and any more scoring becomes redundant so the game ends on the score sheet. If it is a solo shot or if the hitters run is detrimental to his or her team winning the game than the batter must cross the plate for the run to count.


In baseball if there are two outs and a runner on third and the batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first does a run score if the runner got home before the batter was thrown out?

nope, as long as you get the out no runs count.


How would it be possible in a baseball game for a player to hit a home run with the bases loaded but to have only one man the batter score?

If the batter and runners all cross home plate out of order, only one runner would not have committed a rules infraction.


How do you score baseball?

You score in baseball by advancing runners around the bases (first, second, third and home). Once a runner touches home plate without being tagged out, this is counted as a run. Each runner that crosses home plate counts as one more run.


Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.


There is one out a runner is on third and the batter grounds out to shortstop and the runner scores this is recorded as a rbi but is this a sacrifice as well?

No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.