answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

When the batter is standing on the plate.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-03 17:56:48
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When is it interference by the batter with the catcher when a runner from third base is trying to score?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


If a batter who has bunted the ball in fair territory and is running to 1st base now intentionally trying to block the throw to the first baseman from the catcher and is hit by the ball on the throw?

This is umpire's discretion, but usually if the runner is in the runner's lane (the two parallel lines starting half-way up the foul line between home plate and first base) the runner will not be called out. However, if in the umpire's judgment the runner is in the runner's lane but is deliberately trying to interfere with the throw, the runner can be called out for interference.


Runner on1st base batter with 2 strikes on next pitch the batter swings and misses runner is safe at 2nd but ump sends him back to 1st batter is called out Why?

I am the person that posed the question, but I want to add a little more than what fit in the question box. First of all, I believe I have seen just about everything there is to see happen in a baseball game. However, at the Braves/Phillies game this weekend I was in the stands when something happened that I have never seen, and there was no anouncer to explain what may have happened. Here it is: With one out in the 6th inning Pat Burrell was batting with Chase Utley on first base. Burrell had a 2-2 count and Utley took off in an attempt to steal 2nd base. Burrell swung and missed. The Braves catcher threw to 2nd base too late and the ump called Utley safe. Next thing the umps are having a meeting and then break out. They send Utley back to 1st base and call Burrell out. I cannot figure out why Utley was sent back to 1st. The only thing I can think of was that maybe Burrell foul tipped the ball for the 3rd strike and we could not hear it; and that, perhaps, the rules say that a runner on base cannot advance if the batter foul tips the ball. If anyone knows the rule that governs this play please reply. If time was called before the pitch then Burrell would still be alive. ---- Without having seen nor heard of the play I can't really comment other than to say 1) A foul tip is a strike and has no bearing on whether a player can attempt to steal a base. 2) One possible explanation is that Burrell's bat, after swinging and missing, hit the catcher during his throw to second base. This would be considered batter interference and the runner attempting the steal, if successful, would be sent back to his original base. If the runner were thrown out then the out would be recorded. This is covered in MLB Rule 6.06(c): A batter is out for illegal action when -- "He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base. EXCEPTION: Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out, or if runner trying to score is called out for batter's interference. Rule 6.06(c) Comment: If the batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call "interference." The batter is out and the ball dead. No player may advance on such interference (offensive interference) and all runners must return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference. If, however, the catcher makes a play and the runner attempting to advance is put out, it is to be assumed there was no actual interference and that runner is out-not the batter. Any other runners on the base at the time may advance as the ruling is that there is no actual interference if a runner is retired. In that case play proceeds just as if no violation had been called. If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play."


Is the batter out if the batter hits a ball and throws his bat and the bat hits the catcher and as a result the catcher is unable to field a throw for a play at the plate?

Yes. If at any point in a game, the batter or baserunner interferes with the fielder, he is an automatic out. If he impedes the throw to get out another runner, the other runner is out as well. For instance, on a double play, if the runner going to second is already out by force at 2nd, and he plows into the short stop trying to throw the other runner out at first, the runner going to first is also out. The baserunner must always slide or otherwise avoid excessive contact with the fielder on a double play.


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


What does throwing out the runner mean?

Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.


How can a batter reach first base without getting a hit?

Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe. - Error - Hit by Pitch - Walk - Dropped 3rd strike - Catcher interference - Fielders Choice


Can you hit the ball out of the catchers glove in baseball?

If you are talking about a runner trying to score from 3rd. base yes, you can, (in most leagues, Little League and younger they may have added specific rules about this to limit the chance of player injuries.) If you are talking about during an "at bat" no. If the bat touches the catcher's glove on a pitch it is ruled cather's interference. The play is ruled dead and the batter is awarded first base. And no, I have never seen anybody who could hit a ball out of the catcher's glove and NOT touch the glove.


What happens if a base runner intentionally interferes with a thrown ball?

Runner is out. Other runners must return to the base they occupied at the instant of the interference. If the runner was trying to break up a double play, the other runner is also out.


Is it legal in little league baseball to run into the catcher at home plate?

There are two situations. (1) If the catcher (or any defensive player) has possession of the ball the runner (Rule 7.08(a)(2) the runner is out if "the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag." In addition, if the umpire judges that the runner was malicious and trying to injure the fielder (including the catcher) the umpire may eject the player. However, if the catcher does NOT have possession of the ball and therefore is not waiting to make the tag, the catcher is guilty of obstruction (Rule 2.00, definition of obstruction). If the umpire makes this judgement, the runner would be awarded the base to the runner. This does not give the runner free license to slam into the catcher. Again, if the umpire judges the runner was malicious, the runner would be awarded the base (including scoring the run) and then the umpire may eject the player. In addition, if the umpire judges that the catcher was malicious and was malicious in their action (causing injury to the runner), the catcher may be ejected. So the bottom line is that the runner and catcher are expected to avoid malicious contact.


If a runner trying to advance to third unforced with two outs is tagged out after the batter has reached first base by the shortstop on a ball hit into the hole does the batter receive a hit?

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.


Can a runner on third base steal home when the batter gets ball four?

Yes. The game is in play unless someone call time out. Any runner can still advance although if forced, the runner on first or the runners on first and second get free passes. The batter can take his time going to first but all other runners are in play. That's why you never see a catcher trying to catch a the runner going from 1st to second on a steal because on ball 4, if there's an error on the throw, everyone can still advance.


What is a home plate collision?

A home plate collision is usually the case of a base runner that was on one of the bases trying to reach home plate in order to score while the other team's Catcher is trying to block home plate in order to prevent the base runner from touching home plate in an effort to prevent a run from scoring and the runner and the base runner usually slides into the Catcher that is blocking home plate which is what one example of a home plate collision is.


What is a fielders balk in baseball?

The only fielder that is able to balk is the pitcher. a balk occurs when there is a base runner and the pitcher makes an incorrect move, in essence trying to trick the runner and/or batter. the pitcher has a set of rules to follow and must reveal his intentions of throwing the runner out or throwing home. it's best to look into the leagues rule book to see what rules apply to the league that interests you. it's a very complex rule. It is also a balk when the catcher is out of the catcher's box when the pitcher begins his pitch, and when any player other than the catcher is not in fair territory when the pitcher begins his pitch.


In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter


If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder


Does batter at bat count if walked on wild pitch and runner on third gets third out trying to steal home?

Anytime a batter is walked it does not count as an at bat


Can a runner trying to score hurdle a catcher?

Depending on your league rules. In general, the answer is yes, provided that your league has not adopted a "must slide rule".


If a ball is kicked out of the glove by the runner trying to go home is he out?

He's safe if he touches home before the catcher picks it up and tags him. If it was a force at home then he's out as soon as the catcher touches home plate.


Is the runner required to get out of the basepath during a double play attempt after being forced out at the base they are trying to get too?

No. MLB Rule 7.09(d) states "Any batter or runner who has just been put out hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate; Rule 7.09(d) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.". The play happens so fast that it would be next to impossible for the runner to get out of the way, especially if he is sliding. As long as the runner that was forced doesn't do anything out of the ordinary (wave arms, jump up in the air) it is not necessary to leave the basepath.


Bases loaded two outs the batter hits the ball into the outfield all three runners touch homeplate but the batter runner is tagged out trying to get to 3rd base do the runs count?

All runners who touched home plate before the batter/runner was tagged out are considered to have scored runs.


On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base


Who backs up the pitcher on a throw back from the catcher to home plate on a pass ball where the runner is trying to steal home from third?

another player


What does a catcher do?

A catcher is stationed behind the batter and in front of the umpire. His job is to tell the pitcher what kind of pitch to throw, and then catch the pitch. He is also responsible for throwing runners out who are trying to steal bases.


What is official scoring when runner is thrown out trying to advance on passed ball or wild pitch?

It's ruled "caught stealing," and scored 2-6 if the catcher throws to the shortstop, 2-4 if the catcher throws to the second baseman, etc.