answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

I assume you mean if you're score keeping and not saying "How would the batter who becomes a runner be able to score a run on the play." If you're referring to score keeping I believe you would just note that the batter reach first base as a result of the fielders choice by 3Bman. FC - 5.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-18 21:06:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits the ball but the runner on third is tagged out how do you score the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


What is the most steals a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

Ten - First batter reaches steals two bases tagged out at plate. Second batter does the same. Third batter steals two bases and fourth batter steals one. Ten is the answer but alternatively, first batter gets on and steals two bases (2). Next batter reaches first and steals second (3). Third batter reaches first and now with three runners on each base a triple steal could be executed with the 3rd base runner being tagged out (5). Repeat last sentence, (7). Then the fifth batter gets walked, and a triple steal is attempted. The runner from third gets caught in a rundown. The runner from second steals third (8). The runner from first steals second and third (10). Then one of the three runners now between third and home gets tagged out before the lead runner can score.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


What is a suicide play in baseball?

There is a play in baseball known as the 'suicide squeeze'. It is a high risk play done in an attempt to score a run and is usually seen only when the score is tied or there is a one or two run difference. The situation where a suicide squeeze may be attempted is when there is a runner on third base and less than two outs. When the pitcher throws to the batter, the runner on third starts for home and the batter turns and makes an attempt to bunt the ball. If the batter misses the bunt attempt, the catcher will be in possession of the ball and the runner coming home from third will be tagged out. If the batter makes a successful bunt but the ball goes in the air and is caught by a fielder, it will be a double play as the runner will be doubled off of third base. However, if the batter makes a successful bunt on the ground the runner coming home from third will score.


On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


When is it interference by the batter with the catcher when a runner from third base is trying to score?

When the batter is standing on the plate.


With the bases loaded and 2 outs a batter hits a slow roller to third base the runner from second gets in a rundown and before he is tagged out the runner from third scores is the run good?

yes!


When does a batter need to be tagged after dropping strike 3?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.


Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.


If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.


What is a sacrifice play in softball?

A sacrific is when a batter bunts to try to score the runner on third to score the winning run or tie the game.


2 outs runner on 3b and 1b and batter hits grounder to 2nd who tags runner instead of the base does the run count since both batter and 3b touched before tag?

Yes. On a tag play, if a runner crosses home plate before another runner is tagged for the third out the run counts.


Can a runner on 3B score on 2 outs if he crosses the plate before the shortstop throws out the batter at first base fielding ground ball?

No runs score on a play when a third out is made and that third out was a force out, period. A batter-runner being put out prior to touching first base is a force out. If there had been only one out with runners at first and third or first and second and third, putting the batter-runner out before he reaches first base ends the force on the other runners, and so if the defense next also got the runner going to second or to third, on a double-play, the runner from third crossing home before that third out would count, because the third out was not a force out.


If a runner trying to advance to third unforced with two outs is tagged out after the batter has reached first base by the shortstop on a ball hit into the hole does the batter receive a hit?

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.


Does a runner need to be tagged if he overruns third base when the bases are loaded to be called out or does the third baseman only need to touch third base?

he needs to be tagged


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


Does the run count if it is made before an out is called?

A run counts if the runner crossed the plate legally and before the third out. If the runner crosses the plate even a half-second before the third out is tagged on the basepaths, then the run counts. If the out is made a half-second before the runner crosses the plate, then the run does not count. One exception is that with two outs the runner cannot score until all forced runners have reached their bases safely. That is, if the batter-runner is thrown out at first even after the runner crossed the plate, then the run does not count. Same thing if a runner is thrown out at second or third base (on a force-play only).


What is it called when a runner is on third tries to score when the batter bunted?

It is called a sqeeze play. It is a form of sacrifice bunting, but when the running is on third, it is exclusively known as a squeeze play. Also, when this happens the batter's sole porpose is to get the runner in and not to reach base himself.


In baseball if there are two outs and a runner on third and the batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first does a run score if the runner got home before the batter was thrown out?

nope, as long as you get the out no runs count.


In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


How do you score baseball?

You score in baseball by advancing runners around the bases (first, second, third and home). Once a runner touches home plate without being tagged out, this is counted as a run. Each runner that crosses home plate counts as one more run.


What are the four ways a batter can get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


In softball if a runner on 3rd scores before a batter running to 1st is tagged instead of the fielder touching 1st base does the run count?

As long as it isn't the third out.


If a batter on a dropped third strike runs to first base and over runs the base can he be tagged out before returning to the base?

No. One rule without exception is the right for the batter-runner to overrun first base without jeopardy of being tagged out unless an attempt is made to go to second.