answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes.

In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-09-10 00:36:50
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Can a runner advance if a batter bunts foul on his 3rd strike?

No a runner cannot advance


When can a runner on base advance on a foul ball?

No.


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


Can a runner advance if the hitters bat touches the ball and the catcher catches it?

YES if you are playing by MLB rules. In Major League Baseball that situation would result in a FOUL TIP, the pitch is considered a strike, and the ball is in play. According to MLB definitions, "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catchers hand(glove) and is legally caught." If a batted ball takes a "sharp and direct" path towards the catcher's glove and IS NOT caught then it is a FOUL BALL, the ball is considered "dead", and the runner CAN NOT advance. For example, if a runner attempts to steal second base and as the pitch arrives a FOUL TIP occurs, if the runner is not thrown out, a stolen base is awarded UNLESS the FOUL TIP results in a third strike to make the third out of an inning.


Can a base runner steal when ball is foul tipped into the catchers mitt?

Yes, the ball is still live.


Can a runner advance on a dropped pop up in foul territory?

No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.


Can Tipped baseball caught in air can runner advance?

Yes. It would be considered a foul tip not a foul ball. Foul tips are treated as if the hitter never even touched it. In this case a runner may advance at his/her own risk.


When the batter hits the ball on the 3rd strict but lands directly in the catchers glove is he out?

Yea its a caught foul tip


Can a runner advance on a foul ball hit into stands?

No, a foul ball is a dead ball, so nobody advances.


Can a runner advance on a foul ball?

If the ball is caught in foul territory, then the runner has the ability to run at their won risk. But if the player drops the ball in foul territory, then the runners have to stay at their respective bases.


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


Can he advance after he is hit by a thrown ball if it goes out of bounds?

NO... anyball landing foul is a foul ball and is a dead ball ...Clarification:the way i read this question is "if a thrown ball hits a runner and goes out of play can the runner advance?" -- If this is the question you are asking, then, yes, a runner can advance on a thrown ball that goes out of play. Runner will be allowed to advance 1 base after the ball goes out of play. The only time this wouldn't be the case is if the runner was running to 1st and the ball hits him and it is deemed interference, he would then be called out.The question is a bit unclear, so it really depends on what you are asking


Can runner advance on foul tip?

Yes. A foul tip is a ball hit by the batter that goes directly back to the catcher who catches the ball. Runners may try to advance (steal a base) at their own risk. A batted ball that is barely touched and goes foul is often erroneously called a "foul tip", but technically is just a foul ball.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


If a runner who is in play is advancing from third and the is hit by a line drive that is called foul is the runner out?

If a runner is in foul territory is hit by a batted ball, it is simply a foul ball and the runner returns to his base. However, if he is in play, he is out.


What happens to the runner that is hit by a throw down to third?

The runner is out unless they are on the bag in time .If the runner is in foul territory, it is just counted as foul.


If the catcher catches a foul tip on a first or a second strike can the runner still advance or does he have to go back to his base if he is stealing?

He can advance, it's a live ball if caught sharply and directly.


Is a base runner out if he touches a ground ball that is in foul territory before the other team?

If the ball is in foul territory and hits a base runner in foul territory then it is a foul ball, so no he would not be out


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


Can a runner advance a base on a foul tip strike 2?

Of course, because a foul tip, by definition, is not a foul ball. It's a live ball and it doesn't matter if it's strike 1 2 or 3 (unless strike 3 makes it the third out of the inning). Remember this: "there is nothing foul about a foul tip" www.westmichiganhighschoolbaseball.com


Can you advance on a caught foul ball?

Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.