Best Answer

The goal keeper may touch the ball with his hands and arms in his team's penalty area.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

It is called the penalty box and is the biggest of the two boxes and is touching the half circle or penalty arc.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

7y ago

yes he/she can for example if the goalkeeper is going to kick the ball and puts it down he/she can pick it up and move it somewhere else.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a keeper handle the ball within the penalty arc?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What can the goal keeper do that is different from other players?

With two exceptions, a goal keeper may deliberately handle the ball within their own penalty area.

May a goal keeper step out of the penalty area?

No. Only in the penalty area may the goal keeper handle the ball.

May a goalkeeper touch the ball with is hand when standing on the edge of the penalty area?

As long as the ball is inside their penalty area a goal keeper may handle the ball. The position of the ball is important. The position of the goal keeper is not.

Goalie hand ball?

A goal keeper cannot deliberately handle the ball outside of his own penalty area. If they do, then a direct free kick is awarded to the opponents.

Can a goal keeper go in to the other team's penalty area and pick the ball up?

In short, no. A goal kick is not complete (the ball in not yet in play) until the whole of the ball crosses the whole of the penalty area line and into the field of play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before it completely leaves the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken. If the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after the ball has left the penalty area and become "in-play", then he is guilty of a handling infraction because the ball is not within the keeper's own penalty area anymore. Either the ball is still in the penalty area or it isn't; it can't be both. This is all without even considering the fact that a goalkeeper cannot handle a ball that has been intentionally kicked to him by a teammate, the so-called "pass-back" rule.

What is the penalty when a goalkeeper mistakenly touches the ball with his hands when the ball is passed to him by one of his own players?

If their team mate passed the ball deliberately, with their feet, and the goal keeper then touches it with their hands within their own penalty area, then an indirect free kick is awarded to the opponents at the place where the goal keeper handled it.

Can goalkeeper hold the ball in the semi circle outside the 18 area?

No because it will be classed as handball and the other team will get a free kick.

When a back pass is going into the goal can a keeper save it without being penalised?

This depends on the referee's determination of the passer's intent. If the player was deliberately passing the ball to the keeper, then the keeper may not handle the ball without penalty (though of course saving it with the feet or another part of the body is perfectly legal).

Can a soccer keeper pick ball up if defender passes within box?

A goal keeper may not handle the ball if it is passed to them from the feet of a team-mate. If they do, an indirect free kick is awarded to the opponents at the location of the handling.

After a goalkeeper made a save can the goalkeeper punt the ball inside the penalty arc to distribute the ball to his team mates?

The purpose of the penalty arc is to ensure that, when a player takes a penalty kick, his teammates and opponents stay ten yards away from him at all times. While the goalkeeper has the ball in his possession, no player is allowed within the penalty arc until the keeper releases the ball.

When a player touches the ball with their hand inside of their penalty box it is called?

If a defender, one not the goal keeper, deliberately handles the ball within their own penalty area then the restart is a penalty kick for the opposing team. It could also be misconduct depending on the circumstances. If an attacker deliberately handles the ball within the opponent's penalty area, the restart is a direct free kick for the defense. It must be, in the opinion of the referee, deliberate.

When can soccer players touch the ball with their hands?

The goal keeper (may be known as a goalie or keeper) is allowed to touch the ball with his hands and to pick up the ball as long as he is within the 18 yard box (also known as the penalty area). Other players may only handle the ball when it is out of play. This is usually either when the ball goes outside the bounds of the field, such as for a throw-in, goal kick or corner or when the referee has blown his whistle to indicate a foul or to indicate the end of a half. Note that during a goal kick, corner or free kick / penalty the player may initially position the ball with his hands, however once the referee blows his whistle to recommence play, the ball must only be played with the feet.