answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

As long as the ball is inside their penalty area a goal keeper may handle the ball. The position of the ball is important. The position of the goal keeper is not.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-12-27 18:54:42
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

An arrow is shot straight up at an initial velocity of 250 ms How long will it take to hit the ground

Convert this number to scientific notation 278000

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.17
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: May a goalkeeper touch the ball with is hand when standing on the edge of the penalty area?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.


What area can the goalkeeper handle the ball?

The goal keeper may touch the ball with his hands and arms in his team's penalty area.


Can a goalkeeper touch the ball that passed by teammate when an opponent is in the penalty box?

No, the goalkeeper cannot touch the ball directly after a teammate has kicked it to him. The presence of an opponent in the penalty area is irrelevant. The Laws of the Game do not make accommodations for bad play or poor strategy.


Can the opposition be in the penalty area whilsta goal kick is being taken?

Not legally. No player is allowed in the penalty area whilst a goal kick is being taken other than the player taking the goal kick (usually the goalkeeper). If anotehr outfield player takes the goal kick then the goalkeeper can be in the penalty area. No player is allowed the touch the ball after the kick is taken until it leaves the penalty area.


Who is the only player who can touch the ball with his hands in soccer?

The designated goalkeeper for the team may use their hands and arms to touch the ball while in their own penalty area.


Within what area is the goalkeeper able to hold ball with hands?

The penalty area.


Can a keeper run up to the penalty box throw the ball forward leave the penalty area and kick it further?

Yes. The goalkeeper may leave the penalty area at any time during play, but cannot touch the ball with his hands while outside of the area.


Who can be in the penalty area when a penalty kick is taken?

When a penalty kick is taken, only the kicker, the goalkeeper, the referee, and one assistant referee are allowed to be inside the penalty area.


Can a goalkeeper go in opponent penalty area and use his hand or punched it to score a goal?

No, once he leaves his box he is no longer allowed to touch the ball with his hands.


When a player is denied in a penalty area by a goalkeeper whithout the hand of the goal keeper touching the ball and the player got down in contact with the goalkeeper what will be the decission?

If an attacker was fouled in the penalty area by anyone on the defending team, including the goalkeeper, then the resulting restart would be a penalty kick from the penalty mark for the team that was fouled. In this instance, it seems to point to a foul.


If a defender takes a goal kick and passes it to his own goalkeeper on the edge of the penalty area is the goalkeeper allowed to pick it up and carry it back into the penalty area?

In short, no. A goal kick is not complete (the ball in not yet in play) until the whole of the ball crosses the whole of the penalty area line and into the field of play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before it completely leaves the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken. If the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after the ball has left the penalty area and become "in-play", then he is guilty of a handling infraction because the ball is not within the keeper's own penalty area anymore. Either the ball is still in the penalty area or it isn't; it can't be both. This is all without even considering the fact that a goalkeeper cannot handle a ball that has been intentionally kicked to him by a teammate, the so-called "pass-back" rule.


Is it always a penalty to touch the ball with your hands?

No. It is only a penalty kick if you do it deliberately, in your own penalty area, and are not the goalkeeper. Otherwise it is a direct free kick offence.Under certain circumstances, for example doing it to deny a goal-scoring opportunity, it can also result in a send off.

People also asked