answersLogoWhite

0

The goal keeper (may be known as a goalie or keeper) is allowed to touch the ball with his hands and to pick up the ball as long as he is within the 18 yard box (also known as the penalty area).

Other players may only handle the ball when it is out of play. This is usually either when the ball goes outside the bounds of the field, such as for a throw-in, goal kick or corner or when the referee has blown his whistle to indicate a foul or to indicate the end of a half.

Note that during a goal kick, corner or free kick / penalty the player may initially position the ball with his hands, however once the referee blows his whistle to recommence play, the ball must only be played with the feet.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BeauBeau
You're doing better than you think!
Chat with Beau
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
More answers

No, that's called a handling. The handling rule includes anywhere from the fingertips to the shoulder. The touch must be intentional and is totally up to the discretion of the refereed. A ball that inadvertently touches a players hand or arm from a kick or bounce is usually not called. When a "handling" infraction occurs the opposing team receives possession of the ball via an indirect kick at the point of infraction.

The only player allowed to "handle" the ball is the goal keeper and only when he is inside his own penalty area. He may NOT, however, "handle" the ball if it is intentionally kicked to him by one of his own team or if he steps outside the penalty area.


Any other player may touch the ball with their hands if the ball goes out of bounds (into "touch") over the sideline (touch line) in which a throw-in occurs. Other players may also touch the ball with their hands to place the ball for goal kicks, corner kicks, direct kicks, and indirect kicks.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Players other than the goalkeepers are not allowed to touch the ball with their hands while it is in play. The goalkeepers may handle the ball only within their own penalty areas. Players may (and sometimes must) touch the ball with their hands prior to (or while) putting the ball back in play, but the ball is not yet in play at these times.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

You may deliberately handle the ball if you are a goal keeper in their own penalty area or to restart the match if the ball goes out of play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

It must be deliberate handling and is a direct free kick.

In order to be a penalty it must be done by a defender (not the goal keeper) in the defender's penalty area.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Yes, but only in his own penalty area.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

no that is false

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When can soccer players touch the ball with their hands?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp