answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out.

The correct answer is yes.

The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-06-30 18:42:51
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


How is a sacrifice fly different from a sacrifice bunt?

A sacrifice fly is a fly ball that is caught for an Out, but that allows a runner to tag up and score. A sacrifice bunt is a ball that is "tapped" with the intent of sacrificing an Out (the batter) to advance the runner or runners on base.


Why do you bunt a softball?

You bunt to get on base, just like a hit. You also bunt to sacrifice in order to move runners on base.


Does a sacrifice bunt hurt your batting average?

No, since a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat the batter's average stays the same.


What is sacrifice in baseball?

If you are referring to a sacrifice bunt, it is a play in which they may need to move a runner on first to second to get him into scoring position. They bunt the ball and force them to throw to first to get the batter out while they get the baserunner to second base.


What is a sacrifice bunt?

Official baseball rule 10.09 (a) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error. (b) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base.


If a batter lays down a bunt with a runner on 1st pitcher fields the ball and overthrows 1st base and the batter gets to 2d on the overthrow is this a 2 base error or a sac and a 1 base error?

That decisionis left up to the person who is the 'official scorer' for the game. If the batter turns and shows bunt before the pitcher throws he usually is credited with a sacrifice whether an error is committed or not. But if the official scorer thinks that the batter was trying for a base hit and not for a sacrifice he may score it solely as an error.


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


How many ways to score from second base?

You can score from second base several ways. First, you can score on a single if it is hit far enough. You can also score on an error. You can steal third and make it home on a bunt or a hit. You can reach home from second base with a sacrifice hit, or an extra base hit by the batter.


Why would the batter bunt?

A bunt is typically designed to advance a base runner. It is most often employed when the infield is playing deep. As a bunt attempt increases the odds of making contact with the ball, bunts are often used by National League pitchers who aren't paid for their skill at the plate. A sacrifice bunt designed to advance a runner from first or second base is generally laid down in the area between the mound and first base - behind the runner. A bunt designed to advance a runner from third base is generally placed between the mound and third base. Bunts can also be attempted for a base hit. A "suicide squeeze" is one of the most exciting plays in baseball. It results when a runner on third base breaks for home on the pitch as the batter attempts a bunt. A bunt made with two strikes that rolls foul is a third strike and the batter is out. This differs from other foul balls.


If you hit a ball to second base with runners on first and second base and both runners advance to the next base and the hitter gets thrown out is this a sacrifice?

No. A sacrifice is when the batter turns around to bunt and lets everyone on the defense know what they are going to do. The batter is 'sacrificing' (allowing the defense to get him/her out) so the runners can advance one base.


What does s mean in baseball stats?

Strike In the box score an "s" denotes a sacrifice bunt. This results in an out for the batter, but the baserunner moves up a base.


If a run scores as a result of a sacrifice bunt is the batter awarded an rbi?

yes


What counts as an at bat?

A batter's plate appearance counts as an at-bat unless * he hits a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly, * he receives a base on balls, * he is hit by a pitch, or * he is awarded first base because of interference or obstruction.


Does a bunt count as a hit?

Yes, assuming the batter reaches base safely.


What does the baseball term drag mean?

Drag is a bunting term used mainly by left-handed batters. It is the act of bunting the ball while starting to run towards first base. Drag bunting is not a sacrifice bunt. If there are any runners on base and a batter drag bunts, the Official Scorer will not credit the batter with a sacrifice so long as he makes it obvious he is bunting for a single. It is the Official Scorer's decision whether or not a sacrifice is granted in a bunt.


What does the term dragging mean?

Drag is a bunting term used mainly by left-handed batters. It is the act of bunting the ball while starting to run towards first base. Drag bunting is not a sacrifice bunt. If there are any runners on base and a batter drag bunts, the Official Scorer will not credit the batter with a sacrifice so long as he makes it obvious he is bunting for a single. It is the Official Scorer's decision whether or not a sacrifice is granted in a bunt.


If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).


What is it called when a baseball player is on third base and the player batting hits a bunt and the player on third steals home?

sacrifice bunt


Is it possible for a batter to get a sacrifice bunt if the bases are loaded If so How?

It would be possible but very unlikely. According to MLB Rule 10.09(a): "Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error." MLB Rule 10.09(b) states: "Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base.". It would be very difficult to sacrifice with the bases loaded since when the defense sees the batter turn around to bunt their first thought would be to field the bunt and throw home to get the lead runner on a force out. Home would be the closest base to the fielder that fields the bunt so that would be the first base they would throw to. That would make a sacrifice bunt very difficult. However, if the fielder threw home and the runner from third beat the throw (maybe the runner was running with the pitch) and was called safe, the batter could be credited with a sacrifice per rule 10.09(b) above. This type of play, where the batter attempts a bunt when the runner from third base takes off for home when the pitch is delivered, is called a 'suicide squeeze'. Or, if the fielder made a poor throw and the runner was called safe at home, the batter could be credited with a sacrifice per rule 10.09(a) above. The 'suicide squeeze' play is something you might see a few times per season. It got its name from the fact that if the bunter misses the ball, or maybe the defense senses the play and calls for a pitchout, the runner coming home from third is going to be easily tagged out by the catcher.


Is a ground ball hit to the right side that advances the runner considered a sacrifice or does it have to be a bunt to be a sacrifice?

No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.


If a hitter executes a sacrifice bunt advancing a runner to second or third base but no run scores does this count as an at bat when scoring?

No, a bunt that is scored as a sacrifice is never charged as an at-bat.


When can a batter not bunt?

A batter can bunt anytime ...whether it's wise to bunt is a different story.