answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes it is considered a sacrifice.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-08-14 20:52:28
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In NCAA baseball a batter bunts with a runner on second base and advances him to third is this a sacrifice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Is a ground ball hit to the right side that advances the runner considered a sacrifice or does it have to be a bunt to be a sacrifice?

No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.


What action happens when a runner advances to a base without any action form a batter in baseball?

a steal or balk


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


Is it scored a sacrifice fly if you move a runner up but don' t score him?

AnswerNo. Unless the runner scores, it is NOT a sacrafice fly. If a batter flies out while a runner is on either 1st or 2nd base, tags up and advances to the next base, it is simply ruled as a flyout with the runner advancing, and the "at bat" will still be charged to the batter. A sacrafice fly scores the runner after he tags up, the batter does not get charged with an "at bat", and he also gets credit for a run batted in (RBI).I disagree. If a batter bunts and the runner advances, it is a sacrifice. So it would stand to reason that if you fly out, and the runner advances, then it would be as well.To Above:It's not a matter of disagreeing, it's a matter of MLB rules as designated by the rulebook. A sacrifice fly is not the same as a sacrifice bunt, a hit is only a sacrifice fly if the runner can tag and score. The reason being that a sacrifice fly is not scored as an official at-bat due to it's strategic value, thus it doesn't count against your batting average; since it's impossible to determine whether or not a batter is going long for strategy, or just swinging for the bleachers, you thus only get the sacrifice if the runner scores, all other fly-balls count against your average. A bunt is far more obvious in it's intent to move a runner, thus a bunt that moves a runner is a sacrifice.


If a batter grounds out to second base and a runner advances is the batter charged a time at bat?

Yes.


Why is there no sacrifice ground ball in baseball?

There is no sacrifice ground ball in baseball because you don't try to sacrifice yourself to advance the runner on the ground ball. Also, on a bunt, it's hard to get the leading runner anyway, so the fielder most of the time goes for the batter at first. On a ground ball however, the fielder most of the time has an easy option for the lead runner as well as the batter.


What does passing baseball mean?

Passing baseball means the catcher failed to hold or control a legally pitched ball. As a result of this loss of control, the batter or runner on base advances.


In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


What is SAC in scoring baseball?

A sacrifice fly or when a batter flies out and a runner tags up and scores this doesnt count as an at bat


There is one out a runner is on third and the batter grounds out to shortstop and the runner scores this is recorded as a rbi but is this a sacrifice as well?

No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.


An action by a batter that advances the runner to another base resulting in the batter being put out?

The action is called a sacrifice. The batter may bunt the ball to move a runner to scoring position. The batter may hit a fly ball into the outfield so that the runner on third can tag up and cross the plate. The batter may hit a ball that goes to a certain part of the infield where the only play the fielder can make is to first.


Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.


What is a sacrifice fly?

It is a fly ball that's hit deep enough to the outfield so a base runner can successfully advance to the next base. The batter is not charged with an at bat, but credited with a sacrifice and does not effect his batting average..When a runner is on 3rd and scores on the play, an RBI is credited to the batter.


A batter hits a ball to SS with a man on 2nd. He gets thrown out at 1st but advances the runner to 3rd does this count as an at bat towards his batting average or is it a sacrifice hit?

This is simply an out. Sacrifices are only given to bunts that advance all runners or fly outs where a runner scores.


What is an sacrifice fly in softball?

A sacrifice fly in softball is when they batter sacrifices themselves (meaning they are getting an out) to score the runner or to move the runner into scoring position.


Runner advances a base on a fly ball but not from third Sac or not?

no it is not a sacrifice- just a regular at bat and fly out


If a batter bunts with a runner on second base would this be a sacrifice?

Yes. If the batter turns around and bunts with a runner or runners on base in an attempt to move them up a base while giving himself up as an out the play is considered a sacrifice.


If a runner is on and next batter bunts to move runner but gets out Is that a sacrifice or no since runner didn't score?

It is only a sacrifice bunt if someone scores. If no one scores, then the player who bunted isn't credited with anything.


What is a sacrifice bunt?

Official baseball rule 10.09 (a) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error. (b) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base.


What is considered a sacrifice in baseball?

When a batter gives himself up to move a runner from one base to the next. Technically it is supposed to be an intentional act, but the official scorekeepers generally give the batter the benefit of any doubt.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


Is it a sacrifice if a runner is on third with one out and the batter grounds out to second base with the runner on third scoring?

Most official scorers won't record that as a sacrifice but it could be recorded as one.


How is a sacrifice fly different from a sacrifice bunt?

A sacrifice fly is a fly ball that is caught for an Out, but that allows a runner to tag up and score. A sacrifice bunt is a ball that is "tapped" with the intent of sacrificing an Out (the batter) to advance the runner or runners on base.