answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. Home plate is in fair territory.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-07-02 09:38:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter hit a ball that bounces off home plate 1st?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

The Pitcher throws towards home plate. the ball bounces in the dirt before home plate and it hits the batter is it a dead ball or hit batter?

It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch


Is home plat in fair or foul territory?

Home plate is foul territory unless the ball rolls in front of the plate and stays fair. If the ball bounces off the plate and strikes the batter; it's a dead ball.


If a batter hit the ball and bounces off the home plate and the catcher catches it without touching the ground is it an out?

No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.


What happens if a pitch bounces on home plate?

It's a ball


If a batter hits a pitched ball that bounces in front of the plate and it goes out of the park for a home run is this the correct ruling?

Yes, it is scored as a home run.


If a Batter hits a baseball and it bounces off home plate and then rolls into fair territory is it foul?

It would be considered a fair ball.


If a ball is hit and bounces on home plate is it a fair ball is it stays fair?

It would be a fair ball.


What is a balitmore chop in baseball?

When a batter hits a ball very hard usually in front of home plate that hits the ground and bounces up high.


Dead ball if the batter hits the ball and it hits home plate?

No. Home plate is considered fair territory.


If the ball hits home plate and then the batter hits it is it a fair ball?

I believe, since home plate is in fair territory, the ball would be fair and the batter would be called out for making contact with a live, fair ball. The equivelent to runner interference with the ball on the base paths. ---------- The question is unclear. If a pitched ball hits home plate, it can then be hit by the batter (former Astros player, Enos Cabell, comes to mind). However, if the batter hits the pitch, and the ball then hits the plate and bounces up into the air, and the batter then hits it a second time, he's out. The rule says if the bat hits a batted ball a second time, the batter is out, which is different the the ball hitting the bat a second time.


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a ball is he out?

In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.

People also asked