answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes, as long as the player that tips has not stepped out of bounds

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-08-30 03:03:52
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a ball be tipped back in bounds in the end zone for a touchdown?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Ball in players possession however ball outside pilon. is this a touchdown?

As long as the player is not ruled out of bounds it is a touchdown. The goal line technically extends past out of bounds.


When a football breaks the plane in the endzone when is it a touchdown?

you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.


Can a player who is out of bounds direct the ball back in bounds and continue play?

No. Once the ball touches a player that is out of bounds, the ball is considered out of bounds.


When is the ball out of bounds in a game of basketball?

When the ball makes contact with anything that is out of bounds (this includes touching the out of bounds line) it is considered 'out of bounds'. If the ball goes out of bounds in the air and is pulled back, it is not considered out of bounds.


Out of bounds pass in football?

In American Football, if a player has one foot out of bounds when he catches the football, he is out of bounds. If he has is in bounds when he catches the football then he caught it and it is a completed catch. If the player goes out of bounds and comes back in bounds and catches the football it is still an incomplete pass. However, if he was knocked out of bounds or if the ball was tipped, it may be a completed pass. The rules keep changing at all levels of the game.


In the 1997 playoff game between the Pittsburgh Steelers and the New England Patriots did Kordell Stewart step out of bounds on his touchdown run?

If I remember correctly, he did, but he stuck the ball over the goal line before he was out of bounds, making it a touchdown. "Of course he did."


When playing basketball if the ball is passed and goes out of bounds but is caught live ball by opposite team who is it out on?

in order for a ball in basketball to be considered to be out of bounds the ball MUST touch/hit the ground out bounds ... if the ball does not touch/hit out of bounds the ball is still live a play can go out of bounds to throw/pass the ball back in bounds so long as the player that is going for the ball bounds feet are in the air when he makes contact with the ball ...


What is the rule if a ball touches the out of bounds line in golf?

If the ball finishes in bounds, there is no penalty, even if the ball travels out of bounds and somehow moves back in bounds. If the ball finishes on the out of bounds line (which is usually marked by white posts, or a fence) , it is deemed to be out of bounds, and you must replay your previous shot. You still have to count the out-of-bounds shot in your score, and there is also a one stroke penalty for hitting the ball out of bounds.


Why is an NFL goal line pylon out of bounds?

The goal line is marked inbounds, but extends beyond the in bounds line. The pylon is the point at which the goal line is out of bounds. It is used by the sideline officials (usually deep wings: FG & SG) to determine when a touchdown is scored or not on plays that are at made at one of the four corners of the endzone. In the NFL, the ball has to be inside the pylon when running into the endzone to be considered a touchdown. In the NCAA starting this year (2012), and part of the player can touch the pylon and as long as the ball is inside the goal line extended (extending into the out of bounds area), to be considered a touchdown. In high school, the ball has to cross the goal line extended to be considered a touchdown.


If an NFL player flies out of bounds before crossing the goal line in bounds but the ball crosses the extended goal line out of bounds before the player's body hits the ground is it scored a touchdown?

According to referee Ed Hochuli who is quoted in the article that you can read at the 'Touchdown or No Touchdown' link below, a player who crosses out of bounds is awarded a touchdown if a part of his body touches in the end zone, or the pylon, after the ball crosses the 'imaginary' goal line outside the pylons. I interpret the question to ask if a player lands completely out of bounds but the ball crosses the 'imaginary' goal line outside the pylon, is it a touchdown? The way I understand what I read, the answer is no since no part of the player touched inbounds. Click on the 'Touchdown or No Touchdown' link to read the article and weigh in with your opinions. If I'm understanding your question right, you're asking about the hypothetical goal line that "travels around the world" indefinitely out of bounds. The NFL just changed this rule for the 2008 season, so that the extended goal line no longer exists. The player must now break the plane of the goal line within the field of play, or press the ball against the corner pylon, for the touchdown to count.


Is it a touchdown if the ball breaks the plane of the goal line on the out of bounds side when a player is diving?

The ball has to be in the touchdown zone. If it is above the zone it is still a touchdown. Take Troy Polamalu's touchdown on Dec,12,2010. He dived, broke the plane of the goal line but he was holding the football above the zone so it counts as a touchdown. In some cases the ref might not count it.


How do you get a touchdown in football?

The ball must break the plane of the end zone (doesn't have to completely cross) while a player is in possession of the ball and before he goes out of bounds or is tackled.

People also asked