answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

a bunt is not a swing unless the plain of the plate is broken ... and or the batter dose not pull back the bat when the pitch is made ...

Answer:

I understand this question asking, "What happens if a batter squares to bunt but pulls back on the pitch?" --- if this is the situation, then when the batter pulls back the bunt the pitch would be called a ball or strike just like any other pitch. If he does not pull the bat back before the ball crosses the plate then it is a strike, much like a missed swing

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-17 20:15:33
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Batter squares to bunt and doesnt swing?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When bunting can the batter show bunt then pull back and swing?

Yes, a batter can show bunt and then pull back and swing. It is fairly common.


If a hitter motions for a bunt and doesnt make contact and the pitch is a ball is the batter charged with a strike or ball?

if the batter doesnt pulll back the bat its considered a strike It depends If the bat passes the front of the plate then it is a strike If the bat stays behind the plate it is the ball It is determined the same way that a held swing is


In baseball how close can a defensive player be to a batter during a pitch?

The closest fielders can be is if the batter bunts 1st and 3rd charge up.If the batter doesnt bunt,on the grass.


When can a batter not bunt?

A batter can bunt anytime ...whether it's wise to bunt is a different story.


What is a fake bunt pulled back to a full swing called?

fake bunt hit


If a batter fouls on a bunt on the third strike is he out?

If the batter has 2 strikes and attempts to bunt but fouls the ball he is out.


What if a batter steps on the plate while batting?

When a batter has attempted a swing or a bunt the momentum can carry him out of the batter's box and cause him to step on home plate. Once the batter has struck at a ball or attempted a bunt, he is allowed to step out of the box, even if he steps on home plate. He cannot do so any other time during his at-bat. Unless "Time" is called, he must keep at least one foot inside the batter's box.


What are 3 ways a strike is called on a batter for softball?

The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


Is a slap bunt that goes foul on the third strike a out?

Any bunt that goes foul on a third strike is an out, so long as the umpire rules it a bunt. If the batter crosses legs to attempt a slap bunt, it will be ruled a bunt.


What is a slash bunt?

A slash bunt is when the batter attemps to bunt the bat and while the ball comes back the batter swings instead of bunts and the main point of this is to hit it right by the foul line over the heads of the third and first basemen


Is double hit of the bat on a bunt an out?

It depends. A) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is bunted straight up into the air and the batter hits the ball again - batter is out. B) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is hit into the infield near home plate, the batter deliberately drops or throws the bat so it hits the ball a second time - batter is out. C) batter attempts to bunt the ball, then drops the bat on the way to first base, the ball incidentally rolls against the bat, ball is live and playable.


In baseball what is an infield hit where the hitter does not swing the bat?

a bunt is where you hold your bat out in front of the plate holding the upper base and do not swing it


Does a sacrifice bunt hurt your batting average?

No, since a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat the batter's average stays the same.


What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.


Can a batter bunt on the 3rd strike?

he can if he wants but if he fouls it, then he is out.


On a third strike why can you foul tip the ball many times but if you try to bunt and nick the ball you are out?

It's important to know that there are different types of bunts. There's bunting for a base hit, swinging bunts and, most commonly used, sacrifice bunts. The limited foul attempt rule is in effect for all bunts. However, for the first two aforementioned types, the batter is trying to get on base; thus, is wary of the ball/strike count and will rarely attempt a bunt with a two strike count. The only instance the rule comes into play is when a player is asked to lay down a sacrifice bunt in order to advance a base runner.A sacrifice bunt is viewed as the simplest way to put the ball into play. A batter performs a sacrifice bunt by holding the bat in the strike zone until the ball meets the bat. Due to the apparent simplicity, the umpire, in attempt to move the game along, will not allow an unlimited amount of foul attempts. Answer Actually, when you foul tip a ball on the third strike you're out!And a foul tip is when the batter skims the ball and the ball goes into the catchers glove.ClarificationThe first answer given is completely wrong. The umpire makes no assumption on the reasoning behind why a batter is bunting. A sacrifice bunt can be performed with 0 strikes just as a bat for a hit can be performed with 2 strikes - the rule applies to both of these. A "swinging bunt" is not defined in the Rules; it is a term used to describe when a batter swings, but the ball only goes a few feet, much like a bunt.When there is any "swinging motion" whether a full swing, half swing, check swing or "swinging bunt", the 2 strike bunt rule does not apply. This has been a rule as long as baseball has been around. A logical reason for it would be to level the playing field for pitchers and batters alike -- it wouldn't be very fair for a pitcher if a batter were given chance after chance to lay down a bunt until successful. The same reason is behind the 2 strike caught foul tip on a swing rule.


When bunting can a little league batter show bunt and then pull back and swing?

MLB players do that sometimes. I don't see why the rules would be different in little-league. A player can hit the ball with the bat in any way he pleases.


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.


What is it if a batter holds the bat over the plate?

A bunt attempt.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


If the batter attempts to bunt and misses and steps on home plate is he out?

No. There is no rule prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate.


If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).


How Do You Swing In PS2 major league Baseball?

all you have to do is hit x and hit square if you want to bunt.