answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A batter can bunt anytime ...whether it's wise to bunt is a different story.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-26 18:51:55
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When can a batter not bunt?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a batter fouls on a bunt on the third strike is he out?

If the batter has 2 strikes and attempts to bunt but fouls the ball he is out.


When bunting can the batter show bunt then pull back and swing?

Yes, a batter can show bunt and then pull back and swing. It is fairly common.


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


Is a slap bunt that goes foul on the third strike a out?

Any bunt that goes foul on a third strike is an out, so long as the umpire rules it a bunt. If the batter crosses legs to attempt a slap bunt, it will be ruled a bunt.


What is a slash bunt?

A slash bunt is when the batter attemps to bunt the bat and while the ball comes back the batter swings instead of bunts and the main point of this is to hit it right by the foul line over the heads of the third and first basemen


Can a batter bunt on the 3rd strike?

he can if he wants but if he fouls it, then he is out.


Is double hit of the bat on a bunt an out?

It depends. A) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is bunted straight up into the air and the batter hits the ball again - batter is out. B) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is hit into the infield near home plate, the batter deliberately drops or throws the bat so it hits the ball a second time - batter is out. C) batter attempts to bunt the ball, then drops the bat on the way to first base, the ball incidentally rolls against the bat, ball is live and playable.


Does a sacrifice bunt hurt your batting average?

No, since a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat the batter's average stays the same.


What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.


What is it if a batter holds the bat over the plate?

A bunt attempt.


If the batter attempts to bunt and misses and steps on home plate is he out?

No. There is no rule prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate.


If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


Can a batter run to first on dropped 3rd strike bunt in Softball?

Yes they can.


Does a bunt count as a hit?

Yes, assuming the batter reaches base safely.


If a run scores as a result of a sacrifice bunt is the batter awarded an rbi?

yes


Batter squares to bunt and doesnt swing?

a bunt is not a swing unless the plain of the plate is broken ... and or the batter dose not pull back the bat when the pitch is made ...Answer:I understand this question asking, "What happens if a batter squares to bunt but pulls back on the pitch?" --- if this is the situation, then when the batter pulls back the bunt the pitch would be called a ball or strike just like any other pitch. If he does not pull the bat back before the ball crosses the plate then it is a strike, much like a missed swing


Who covers first on a bunt with a runner on first and a right handed batter?

second baseman


What is fluke bunt?

fluke bunt is a fluke bunt


In baseball how close can a defensive player be to a batter during a pitch?

The closest fielders can be is if the batter bunts 1st and 3rd charge up.If the batter doesnt bunt,on the grass.


A batter tried to bunt with two strikes. the bat hit the ball twice. the ball lands fair and rolls foul. What is the call?

Batter is out.


Can a pitch that lands on home plate be a strike?

If the batter swings or makes an attempt at a bunt then yes.


Is it a strike if the batter does not pull the bat back trying to bunt?

Yes. The act of squaring around to bunt the ball is considered identical to swinging. So in this case it would be considered identical to swinging and missing the ball. The batter does not have to pull the bat back.Just simply holding the bat over the plate is not a strike.The batter must make an attempt at the ball, squaring to bunt and holding the bat completly still is not an attempt at the ball and therefore is not a strike


What is it called when a runner tries to steal home and the batter tries to lay down a bunt?

In this situation, the term used is a "suicide squeeze". It sounds a little funny but the actual idea is this: Coach will give a sign to the batter to bunt. At the same time the runner at third base will run as soon as the bunt is layed down, sometimes if wanting to take the chance, as soon as the pitcher starts their delivery.