answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

if the runner is stealing no but if there was a ground ball and he is running then yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-12 16:28:02
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When there is a person running to 2nd does the 2nd baseman have to have his foot on the base to get the runner out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


Is a runner on first out if he makes contact with the 2nd baseman while running to 2nd base on a popup before the 2nd baseman catches the ball with contact occurring after runner reaches 2nd base?

No. A runner is out anytime while running to a base if he makes contact with the ball or the glove that the ball is in. On a pop-fly, a player with the ball only needs to touch the base the runner left from if the runner did not tag-up to the bag after the ball was caught.


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


Can you slide into first base in little league baseball?

Don't know if it's illegal in Little League to slide into first base, but it certainly isn't necessary. The reason for sliding into a base is to try to keep the baseman from tagging the runner. Runners going to 2nd, 3rd, or homeplate must be tagged out unless it is a forced run, in which case the baseman just tags the base. Running to first base does not require a runner to slide since the runner doesn't have to be tagged at first. All the baseman has to do is tag the base.


Can a first basemen interfere with a runner if play is at first base?

Yes a first baseman can interfere with a runner if the play is at first base


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


In baseball how do you score if a runner misses a base and on appeal he is called out?

The out will be credited to the fielder that tagged the base on the appeal. Example: runner misses 3rd base, defensive team appeals by throwing to 3rd base, 3rd baseman tags 3rd base, umpire calls the runner out, 3rd baseman is credited with the out.


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


Does a 1st baseman foot have to touch 1st base while holding the runner on?

no

People also asked