answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes unless he is standing on the base

It is also interference.

Y-THINK-Y

These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional.

It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference.

A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
One answer:

Yes if he is near any bag except 1st because you can't slide at first. If he is in between the bags he can crash into him as long as he stays in the baseline.

Another answer:

If the fielder is making a play on a batted ball, the runner is out for interference. If the fielder is not making a play on a batted ball, he may be guilty of obstruction - umpire's judgment. If the fielder is in the act of throwing and is outside the 3 foot lane between bases, the runner may be called out by the umpire for interference. It is legal to slide into 1st base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

It is the umpires call. if he truly fell, then they may call him safe.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

No...unless it is determined by the umpire that the runner purposely interferred with the throw, the runner my be called out for interferrence.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

yep

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

yes

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A base runner runs into a player with the ball is he out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a player from first to second runs into the base before the ball gets there but the baseman reaches for the ball and knocks the runner off the base and falls on him then tags him is he out?

no


What is a force run in softball?

FORCE RUN: A runner does not have to advance to the next base unless someone is behind him/her running to the base that the first runner is on. If there is a runner, and you are forced to advance to the next base, it is a forced run. For example, a batter hits the ball and safely runs to second base (making sure to step on 1st base). The next batter hits the ball but only runs to first base. The first runner therefore does not have to run to third base. Now there are two runners on bases and the next hit would make both runners run to the next base. When runners are forced to run, the fielders only have to throw the ball to the next base with somebody catching it. If a runner runs at will (that is not being forced to run), then the fielder must touch the player with ball and not just the base. If not a forced run, you have to tag the runner. If it is a forced run, you tag the base.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.


If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder


If a runner is on third and the batter hits himself with the ball and the ball is dead can the runner go to next base?

No. You answered your own question. The ball is dead if it comes into contact with the batter. Play should immediatly halt. I can see in softball, if the fourth ball is pitched and it hits the player, and is counted as a ball, then both runners would move. Of course if the runners on base are forced runs. Aside from that. I cant see a scenario where the runner would move bases based on a dead ball.


How can people get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


Can a runner pass another runner?

no, that's against the rules. if the batter hits the ball and runs, the man on, let's say first base will also have to run.


Bases loaded Batter hits a weak grounder towards first Pitcher picks up the ball and throws to the 1st baseman who tags runner Runner from first base never runs What is the call?

From major league rulebook:7.03(a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.(b) If a runner is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner and two runners are touching a base to which the following runner is forced, the following runner is entitled to the base and the preceding runner shall be out when tagged or when a fielder possesses the ball and touches the base to which such preceding runner is forced.


What is an rbi in softball?

An rbi is when there is a runner on a base and the hitter is at the plate and hits the ball and the runner that was on the base comes home and scores rbi = RUN BATTED IN


Men on 1st 2nd- batter hits ground ball-runner on 2nd goes to 3rdstays on base- hitter runs to firststays on base- 1st base runner goes to 2nd and over runs it does second baseman have to tag runne?

Yes. Runner on 1st has reached 2nd and eliminated the "force" out, but after overrunning the bag, he must be tagged out.


When the bases are loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS The runner scores before the SS throws the batter out Does the run count?

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count


Is the ball still in play if it hits a runner after it passes a fielder?

No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).