answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In Chess, when a pawn has crossed the board and reaches the last rank, that pawn is promoted. In promotion, the promoting player can claim any piece he wishes. It doesn't matter what he has or doesn't have on the board at the time. This sets the stage for more than one queen or more than two rooks, two bishops or two knights of the same color to be on the board at one time. If you had lost your queen previously, then you can "get your queen back" as asked. It is unusual for a player promoting a pawn to claim anything but a queen. The queen can do anything a rook or bishop can do, and might actually be said to "combine" the moves of both pieces. But there are rare cases where is it of benefit to ask for a knight, as this piece cannot be blocked when it attacks. In what is called under-promotion, the player might elect to take something other than the queen. Such a tactic might allow a player to increase his ability to attack without creating a stalemate because of a positional situation. As stated, the player promoting a pawn has choice of pieces, and must select either queen, rook, bishop or knight.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

No. When a pawn reaches the 8th rank, it can be promoted into other pieces, so you can get a Queen back there. But that applies to pawns only. Nothing happens if a Bishop or other piece reaches the 8th rank.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

Only the pawn can be promoted to another chess piece once the pawn reaches the 8th rank . The pawn can not be promoted to a king .

The rules only allow the pawn to be promoted upon the eighth rank . At that time the pawn can then be promoted to a queen or any other chess piece with the sole exception of the king .

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

7y ago

If you can get one of your pawns to the 8th rank, then it will be promoted to your choice of a rook, bishop, knight or queen. Most people choose queen, but there are situations where a knight is preferred. So you can replace a taken queen this way, but it is not necessarily a case of getting it back. You could get a second queen and have two on the board, there is no requirement for you to lose the first before you promote a second.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

A pawn promotion is not 'getting back' a piece that was lost, it is simply gaining a new piece. You can have a second Queen even if you still have your first.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

When your pawn reaches the end of the board

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago

No, only a pawn can be promoted to a queen or other piece of choice.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Yes.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
4y ago

Yes

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
4y ago

YES

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In chess when a pawn crosses the chess board do you get your queen back?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What pieces allow you to get back apiece you lost if you get to the opposite end of the board in chess?

the pawn, of course!! (tho i still like the queen, lol)


Can you win a piece back in chess?

you get one of your pawns to the other side of the board. then, you can take what ever piece you lost in the beginning. (besides a nother pawn)


What color is the back right corner on a chess board?

When you start a chess game, the bottom right corner SHOULD be a light square. If it is dark, you're actually playing on a checker board, so you'll need to rotate the board 90 degrees. Remember the saying in chess: 'white on right, queen on colour.' A checkerboard is the opposite of a chessboard. The lower right hand square is a dark square.


How was the chess board invented?

The chess board was invented along with the game that is played on it. It's history dates back to India, as that is where chess originated. As you might imagine, the specifics are lost in history.


What is the chess piece on the Breaking Dawn cover?

Queen A pawn is at the back


Can you attack someones queen as soon as he gets it back in chess?

Yes


Did George Washington have board games back in his time?

Yes they had checkers and chess


Can a pawn get anything back if it got to the end of the board?

I've not played chess for years ! If you manage to get a pawn all the way across the board - you can exchange it for any piece from the back row (except the King). Therefore - in theory, you could have more than one queen, or more than two bishops, rooks or knights.


Can your queen be taken straight away when you get her back in chess?

Yes , the promoted pawn may be captured at any time .


CAN A CHESS PIECE COME BACK TO THE BOARD AFTER IT HAS BEEN KILLED IN PLAY?

No. Once it's out, it's out for the duration of the game.


Does the piece you get back move like a queen when the pawn crosses?

One may designate what piece one wants, but the queen is what one should choose as it is the most versatile.


Does a chess game end in a tie when a king makes it to the back row?

No. There is no such rule, nothing happens if a king reaches the opposite end of the board.