answersLogoWhite

0

No. You may not move INTO check. If that is the only move available, it would then depend whether or not you are already in check.

If you are in check and cannot move to a square where you are not in check, it is checkmate, the game is over, and you have lost.

If you are not in check, but cannot move without going into check, and you have

no other piece or pawn that can move, then it is stalemate, and the game is a draw.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

EzraEzra
Faith is not about having all the answers, but learning to ask the right questions.
Chat with Ezra
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
More answers

It is illegal to move your king into checkmate because that's like the same as moving your king into check, which is not illegal. If they check you, you must go out of check as in game rules. If you go out of check and into check, you must choose a different path and redo that move.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

No , the rules of Chess prohibits this move .

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Yes. The move would have to protect your king and put the other player into checkmate though.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In chess can you move into checkmate?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp