answersLogoWhite

0

No , only upon the square that it lands .

"The piece that is jumped over is further not affected by the knight: as usual, a knight takes a piece of the opponent by moving to the square that contains that piece. "

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

EzraEzra
Faith is not about having all the answers, but learning to ask the right questions.
Chat with Ezra
LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
JudyJudy
Simplicity is my specialty.
Chat with Judy
More answers

After a fashion. But, generally no. A Knight can always move 2 squares forward and one to the side or to 2 squares to the side and one forward.

There are strategies to help contain this. About the best a talented amateur can hope for is swapping pieces. It also depends on what rules one is using. Some allow promotion of a pawn that's reached the 8th square of the far side to be promoted to any piece of either color.

If this is in effect, one could promote their pawn to the other player's color and effectively block an escape route (seldom applies in modern Chess).

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a knight take everything in its path in chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp