answersLogoWhite

0

The Queen may not move as you described because it is an illegal move - only the knight has the power to jump other Chess pieces . ~ See related link below for more information as to how the Queen moves .

A:

In regular chess, the Queen cannot jump any pieces at all. (The only piece which can jump an intervening pawn or piece is the Knight.)*

However, there are versions of chess with alternate rules, known collectively as fairy chess, in which the Queen might be granted Knight-like features, including the ability to jump over a piece rather than capturing it.

*And the King, while castling, can in a sense be said to have jumped over the Rook.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
More answers

A Queen can move more than one space, but it can never 'jump' an intervening piece. If the intervening piece is of the same colour, the Queen must halt her move on the preceding square. If the piece is an opponent's, the furthest she can go is to take the piece, stopping her move on that piece's square.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
User Avatar

Yes , the knight may jump over the queen just as it can any other chess piece - the knight may jump any chess piece .

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No. Only knights can jump over pieces

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can queens jump over things at chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp