In cricket, it's just a hit ball: the batsman can run if he wishes. To counter this, the defense will often put several defending players behind (called the slips) if they think the batsman will hit back there. In Baseball, you must hit within the foul lines; hitting that ball behind is called a foul ball. This is called a strike (one of three), although a non-caught foul ball will not be called as the third strike.
no, a fielder which is not placed on a base cannot stump the batter out, only a fielder on a base can.
A fielder's choice in baseball is scored when a fielder chooses to make a play on a baserunner instead of the batter, resulting in an out. The batter is not credited with a hit, but reaches base safely due to the fielder's decision.
A batter can be put out in several situations, including: 1) striking out after three strikes are called by the umpire; 2) hitting a fly ball that is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground; 3) grounding into a force out, where a fielder throws the ball to a base ahead of the batter; and 4) being tagged out by a fielder while running the bases. Each of these situations results in the batter being declared out and ending their turn at bat.
Right Fielder, Center Fielder, and Left Fielder.
yes
No. If a player reaches base due to a fielder's error, the batter does not receive credit for a hit, but does get credit for an at-bat. Therefore, the batter's average will descend, but the batter's on-base percentage will increase.
If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.
To stump someone out in rounders, the fielder must have the ball in their hand and touch the wicket before the batter reaches the crease. The batter typically attempts to run towards the next base after hitting the ball, and if the fielder successfully hits the wicket with the ball while the batter is out of the crease, the batter is out. It's crucial for the fielder to act quickly and accurately to execute this play effectively.
In general, if a player is called out, but not due to a fielder touching the ball, then the fielder closest to the ball at that time gets credit for the putout. This includes when a batter bats in an illegal manner -- even when he bats out of order.
yes it is 0-1
both right and left
That would be considered a fielder's choice. Answers.com defines a fielder's choice as: "A play made on a ground ball in which the fielder chooses to put out an advancing base runner, thus allowing the batter to reach first base safely." Even though, in your question, the runner was not put out at home the play would be scored a fielder's choice and the batter would be credited with an RBI.