answersLogoWhite

0

The ball is dead and all runners advance one base.

I just wanted to add onto this answer. When this happens the ball is a live ball until the runs advance a base. i.e if the ball never touches the ground and gets stuck in a jersey it would could as a lineout/fly out and the batter would be out, then it is a dead ball... if somehow it happens on a ground ball a force out can be made, but a batter cannot be tagged out

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
MaxineMaxine
I respect you enough to keep it real.
Chat with Maxine
JordanJordan
Looking for a career mentor? I've seen my fair share of shake-ups.
Chat with Jordan
More answers

It depends on how he leaves the playing field. If the fielder catches the ball in flight, and falls out of the playing field between homeplate and the yellow line on the wall (foul territory), the batter-runner is out as long as the player maintains full, controlled posession of the Baseball. However, if a player catches a ball and falls out of play over the yellow line signifying a homerun, the play should be ruled a homerun, but specific ground rules may be in effect to rule the batter out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Yes as it is still caught on the fly, without touching the ground.

Depends on your definition. If a fly ball is caught in "Foul Ground", then yes it is an out.

Some leagues, for safety reasons, have an "out of bounds" area beyond foul territory. If a ball is caught there, there is no out and it is considered a foul ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Of course not. Once the ball hits a fence or a wall it is the same as if it hit the ground.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

yes aslong as it touches a player and not something like the ground or a wall

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

yes, assuming it's caught by one of the 9 players on the field.Anything that's caught is a out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No, the ball is out of play and dead at that point.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No, that is considered a homerun.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a ball gets stuck on a player is it an out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp