Best Answer

No, he cannot. The only time he can leave the 3 foot baseline is to avoid colliding with a fielder who is attempting to field the ball.

This rule is also supposed to include runners who purposely slide out of the baseline to break up a double-play, but sometimes Umpires forget how short of a distance 3 feet is.

Here is the official rule:

Rule 7.08 (1)

A runner is out when he runs more than three feet away from his base path to avoid being tagged unless his action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner's base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base he is attempting to reach safely.

This rule also helps to explain why it is okay for a runner rounding a base to swing more than 3 feet out of the baseline as they turn, because there is no tag attempt being made at the time they are out of the 3 foot boundary.

If, for any reason, the batter is already out of the baseline before a tag attempt is made, they are not allowed to Dodge the tag attempt by moving back to the original baseline. Where they are currently at when a tag attempt begins is where the new baseline is established, and they cannot run 3 feet out of where they currently are. They must attempt a 3 foot wide straight line from their current position to the base they are trying to reach.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

In Major League Baseball, there is no limit, this is why you see some players taking very wide turns. However, if he goes into the dugout or something like that, he could be called out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How far off the baseline can a runner be if there is no play on him?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When an outfielder attempts to throw out a runner off a basehit and his throw hits the base umpire is the ball dead?

Yes, the play ends, the batter is awarded first base, and the runner that was hit is automatically out.

If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.

What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.

Where is the fuel shut off valve on a 1998 4 runner?

where is the fuel shut-off valve on a 1998 4 runner?

Is it a dead ball when the runner going to first is safe and is hit by the ball in the process on a throw from the second baseman?

In that play the ball will never be dead unless it deflects off the runner into the stands or out of play. If it was seen as intentionally getting in the way of the ball he could be out for interference. But otherwise the ball is live

How far away form the object should the first dimension line be?

The Autocad standard of the first line of dimensions is typically 3/8" off the object. With the baseline spacing from that set to 1/4".

If a ball ricochets off one defensive player and another has the opportunity to make a play the runner shall be out only if they intentionally interfere with the second defensive player true or false?

It doesn't matter if the runner intentionally interferes with the 2nd fielder or not. If he interferes with him in any way, shape or form that prevents the fielder from making a play that could possibly record an out then the runner will be called out by default no matter what.

What is a pick off in baseball?

catching a runner off a base.

How do you steal home?

A steal of home is exciting, but rarely done in modern baseball. In contrast, Ty Cobb stole home 54 times! The classic or "pure" steal is where the runner steals with no help from the batter. For example, if the runner notices the pitcher is not holding him close and/or the 3rd baseman is way off the bag, the runner can get a walking lead or a large secondary lead and then take off as the pitcher is still winding up and then try to score. The element of surprise often makes this successful. There are two squeeze bunt plays that can be called by the coach that allow the runner on 3rd to score. However, if successful, it is due to the hit of the batter and is therefore not technically a steal. a. Safety squeeze, a play called by the coach. The runner runs home after seeing the batter (who is of course also in on the play) bunt successfully anywhere EXCEPT to the pitcher. That is, if the bunt is left or right of the pitcher, the runner takes off and attempts to score. b. Suicide squeeze. Here the runner assumes the batter will indeed make contact with a bunt and assumes it will not be hit in the air and caught (opening up double play risks). When the play is called, the runner simply takes off and trusts the batter to bunt successfully. Very risky. Note that there are 28 ways or situations in which a runner on 3rd can score in baseball. These are 3 of them.

What is a time play in softball?

The best example I can give of a 'timed play' is when the pitcher attempts to pick off a runner at second base. The catcher will give a signal, maybe touching his mask or pounding his fist in his glove. This signal means that at the count of two the second baseman or shortstop, whoever has the responsibility of covering the bag, will start moving towards second base and at the count of four, the pitcher will whirl around and throw to second in an attempt to pick off the runner. The pitcher cannot turn around and see that a runner is taking a big lead off of second base and attempt to pick the runner off because the runner will head back to second as soon as he sees the pitcher looking at him. So, a 'timed play' is executed ... the shortstop/second baseman sneaks to the base behind the runner's back in the hope that the runner does not notice and the pitcher suddenly whirls around and throws in the hopes that he catches the base runner off guard.

If you are a catcher and you have the ball in your bare hand tag the runner is it an out?

Assuming that the runner is off of a bag then yes.

Who captained England in the 1995 Rugby World Cup Final?

England did not play in the final in that year it was between South Africa and New Zealand. England was in the runner up play off and came fourth.