Best Answer

Yes and no. If someone else touched the ball, then you are eligible to touch the ball again. If no one touched it and you grab it again, it is considered traveling.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

yes if the other team doesnt box out he can

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

If it hits the backboard you get catch it yourself but you can't catch your own air ball

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a shooter recover his own shot that did not hit rim or backboard?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is it considered traveling or some other violation for a player to shoot the ball not a free throw shot hit the backboard but miss the rim and then get his own rebound?

No, it is not consider a traveling vioation. If the ref considers it a shot, the shooter can even catch their own "air ball" without it being a violation.

Can you recover from being shot in the head?

Depends entirely on how you're hit.

Can you hit the backboard purposely in the NBA?

yes and if it hits the back board correctly it is a shot

Are you more likely to swish hit off backboard or miss on a free throw in basketball?

hit off backboard

Does a foul shot count if the ball hits the backboard first before touching the rim or going into the basket?

If no one touched it when the buzzer hit, yes

Can a basketball legally hit the top of the backboard?

It is not legal under NCAA rules:Art. 3. The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboardfrom any direction.In NBA the rule is slightly different:b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.Note the word 'directly'. Here's the official interpretation from NBA vice president of referee operations Joe Borgia in 2009:"Think of the backboard as a long tunnel that goes straight back," Borgia said. "If the ball goes through that tunnel, it's a violation. If you looked at Rondo's shot, it was an arching shot up and over the backboard. It never passes through the tunnel."This is why Bird's shot is waived off while other shots that flew over the backboard but not from behind the backboard are valid.Bird's shot is legal under FIBA rules.

Nba rebound their own miss even if it does not touch the rim or backboard?

If a player shoots and it doesn't hit the backboard or rim, and they catch it before it hits the floor, it's a travel. The ball either has to: a) Hit the rim or backboard. b) Hit the ground before the player can retain possession again.

What is lay-up?

when you run torwards the hoop, take two steps, and gently hit the ball against the backboard to score. dont always have to use backboard

What is laying up?

when you run torwards the hoop, take two steps, and gently hit the ball against the backboard to score. dont always have to use backboard

Can a shooter rebound his air ball?

Not in the NBA- that is called a travel. In the NCAA, yes, provided it is a bonefide shot attempt, in the opinion of the official. Rule 9, paragraph 6 of the NCAA Rule Book indicates that any shot attempt constitutes a loose ball and hence, anyone can recover it.

Can you get the rebound if it only hits the backboard?

Not all lay-ups hit the backboard for example a finger roll.

Which collisions showed the shooter marble changing directions?

The collisions where the shooter marble changed directions were in the following match-ups: Shooter vs. Mint, Shooter vs. Duck, Shooter vs. Quicksilver, Shooter vs. Pollo Loco.