He doesn't HAVE to, he probably just does it as a sort of knee-jerk reaction - field a ball, throw it to first. It doesn't affect the play in any way. This answer is correct. In Baseball, after an out is recorded with no one on base, the team will normally throw the ball around the infield and return to the pitcher by the thirdbaseman..It is more of a traditional ritual than anything else.
Yes, a pitcher can fake a throw to first base in baseball. This move is known as a pickoff attempt, where the pitcher pretends to throw the ball to first base in order to catch a baserunner off guard and potentially pick them off.
Yes.
Because it is a longer throw from third to first and the first basemen is more likely to miss the ball
That depends on where the 1st baseman fields the ball. If the 1st baseman can field the ball, throw to second, and have enough time to get safely back to the base to catch the return throw, then (s)he will cover. If not, then it is the responsibility of the pitcher.
Yes. But he has to be careful not to balk.
Starting Pitcher, Relief Pitcher, Closing Pitcher, Catcher, First Base, Second Base, Short Stop, Third Base, Left Field, Right Field, Center Field, (Designated Hitter A.L. Only)
A first base mitt, sunglasses, and fast reflexes
A first base mitt , sunglasses , fast reflexes
Yes, but he must first make a bluff to a runner on third--then bluff or throw to first.
Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.
There is only one call for a balk. When a pitcher is in the stretch and a runner or runners are on base, the pitcher must pause before throwing to homeplate. There can also be a balk called on the pitcher if he makes a move to throw out someone at first base, but doesn't actually throw the ball. (No fake throws to first allowed!) The last reason for a balk to be called is if a pitcher begins to move his front leg towards homeplate, but does not throw the ball to home. (Or simply pitch to the batter). A balk results in baserunners advancing one base.
Official rule book section 7.08 (f) Any runner is out when he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runners may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. The only exception is, if a runner is touching his base when touched by an infield fly, he is not out. This is to protect the runner from being doubled off. However if the runner leaves his base during a infield fly situation and is touched by the ball, both he and the batter are out. In the above situation the call would be, runner on second base called out. Ball is dead and the batter is credited with a hit, forcing the runner on first to second and the runner at third holds his position. Base loaded and two outs., this is assuming that the runner on 2nd base was in front of the infield.