Yes, but he must first make a bluff to a runner on third--then bluff or throw to first.
Yes, a pitcher can fake a throw to first base in baseball. This move is known as a pickoff attempt, where the pitcher pretends to throw the ball to first base in order to catch a baserunner off guard and potentially pick them off.
Yes.
Yes. But he has to be careful not to balk.
That depends on where the 1st baseman fields the ball. If the 1st baseman can field the ball, throw to second, and have enough time to get safely back to the base to catch the return throw, then (s)he will cover. If not, then it is the responsibility of the pitcher.
There is only one call for a balk. When a pitcher is in the stretch and a runner or runners are on base, the pitcher must pause before throwing to homeplate. There can also be a balk called on the pitcher if he makes a move to throw out someone at first base, but doesn't actually throw the ball. (No fake throws to first allowed!) The last reason for a balk to be called is if a pitcher begins to move his front leg towards homeplate, but does not throw the ball to home. (Or simply pitch to the batter). A balk results in baserunners advancing one base.
Absolutely NOT. The pitcher does NOT have to disengage the rubber to attempt a throw to a base. There's a huge debate over this, but anyone who tells you that a pitcher has to step off before throwing to a base hasn't read their rulebook very carefully.
The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.
Cause it is the longest throw for a cather home and first are both 90 ft awawy and there is no pitcher in the way Cause it is the longest throw for a catcher third is only 90 ft awawy and there is no pitcher in the way
If he's already started his motion to home, he cannot stop and throw to second base. That would be a balk. But if he hasn't started his motion to home, he can throw to second base, but he has to disengage from the pitching rubber first.
it's 63.72 ft
The base of the bridge will be on that bluff.
Wait for the pitcher to throw the ball home then run for the next base.