answersLogoWhite

0

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base).

He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

ProfessorProfessor
I will give you the most educated answer.
Chat with Professor
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
More answers

If the first baseman is making a play on a batted ball it is the responsibility of the runner to yield. If there is contact the runner may be declared out. If the first baseman is fielding a thrown ball and there is contact the umpire will usually call the play as it happens and consider the contact incidental. If the first baseman is standing in the baseline while making no play on the ball, he can be legally knocked down and the umpire can rule that the contact prevented the runner from advancing and award as many bases as he determines. That will generally just be one extra base unless the runner gets up and reaches second safely and is thrown out at third. When the contact occurs the umpire should have his hand out in a fist signifying that there has been obstruction and then make his ruling after the play is over. No base will be awarded if there is a runner on first when the batter hits the ball and said runner cannot reach third safely. In this case the contact becomes moot as the runner on second may not be awarded an extra base for obstruction on a player behind him. Many teams put a big kid at first to stand in the way and delay the runners. If an appeal to the coaches and umpires does not get him to move then your players will have to run him over or take the contact get up and try for the next base. If the first baseman is just plain "purposely" blocking the bag as the runner has arrived and the ball is on its way but not there yet the batter should be awarded first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

One answer:The batter cannot carry the bat to first base it is illegal in Baseball. Another answer:In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting the batter from carrying the bat to first base, as long as such action does not interfere with defensive play. I've never seen it done, but there is no rule specifically prohibiting it.

Other leagues may have rules addressing this question. You would need to ask a league official from your specific league.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

No you can't.

It would be considered a foul if you

brought the bat with you

because you could hit someone or something if you took the bat with you.

Bye

Not correct. In MLB there is no rule against carrying a bat after hitting the ball, only against using it to interfere with fielders or a ball in play. Carrying it after hitting a home run would be an offense against good sportmanship but not a violation of the rules.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

No, If a batter carries the bat around the bases it is an Out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

yes No, they're afraid he might use it on the baseman.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

In certain rule sets, yes. NFHS rules allow a batter to be intentionally walked without actually pitching to him.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

I don't believe so. After you bat, and hit the ball, you throw/drop the bat to the side, and run to first.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

No

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp