answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, batters can be ejected while they are batting, usually by arguing about the strike the zone with the umpire. This usually only happens after the batter has struck out, rather then in the middle of the count, but if the batter argues too much, the umpire can toss him at any time.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Absolutely. It's probably not the best posture to have the bat resting on your shoulder, because it takes away from the momentum of swinging the bat when you have to raise it off of your shoulder first, but there's no rule stating how the batter has to stand, as long as he's inside the batter's box. Some batters hold the bat way above their heads, while others have held the bat out in front of them. Chuck Knobloch (spelling) held his bat in front of him with the fat end of the bat facing straight back towards the backstop. Some batters have practically stood facing the pitcher's mound.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter leave the bat on his shoulder when in the batters box?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the significance of the dirt on Matt Kemp's shoulder?

Pine tar from his swing and resting his bat there. I believe it has nothing to do with him resting his bat on his shoulder. A batter does not rest his bat on his FRONT shoulder. I believe, although I have nothing to confirm this, that Matt Kemp himself is putting the dirt on the uniform of his left shoulder. This is his surgically repaired shoulder and he might have developed a ritual or a superstition about it...Just a thought


Does a batter who enters a batters box left handed and takes a strike can he change back to right handed during his at bat?

Yes the batter can switch as often as he would like. It just has to be after the strike.


What can a batter not do?

In the game of baseball the batter is the player who is at bat. There are many rules that the batter must follow. One of the most important rules is that the batter cannot leave his position in the batter's box once the pitcher comes to set position.


Would a batter use two batting gloves?

That is solely up to the preference of a batter. I have noticed most batters now days use two but occasionally a batter will wear only one normally on the hand that is lowest on the bat.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


A baseball bat is a machine. When a batter swings and hits a ball the batter swinging is the?

The batter swinging the bat.


When batters are intentionally walked why do they lay their bats right on the home plate?

Probably so the bat boy can retrieve it quickly to make way for the next batter.


How do you use shoulder in a sentence?

I used my shoulder to swing the bat in baseball.


What is the rule in baseball if you skip a batter?

If the wrong batter completes the at bat, then the skipped batter is recorded as an out. If it is noticed prior to the completion of the at bat the skipped batter assumes the count of the at bat and completes with no additional penalties.


Is it scored a strike out for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

If the batter is still in the batters box, it is a foul ball, otherwise, the batter will be ruled out, and it is a dead ball with runners returning to their bases This is wrong, if the ball hits the bat a second time in fair territory the batter is out, standing in the batters box means nothing in this rule. see MLB rule 6.05 h


How many times is a batter hit by a pitcher out of 100 times at bat?

In the 2008-2010 MLB seasons, there were 497916 total at bats and 4811 batters hit by the pitch for an average of 0.966 batters hit per 100 at bats.


What is the umpires decision if the batter steps out of the box whilst batting?

MLB Rule 6.02 is pretty clear:The batter shall take his position in the batters box promptly when it is his time at bat.(b) The batter shall not leave his position in the batters box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup.PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call Ball or Strike, as the case may be."The official commentary on this rule says even more: "Umpires may grant a hitters request for Time once he is in the batters box, but the umpire should eliminate hitters walking out of the batters box without reason. If umpires are not lenient, batters will understand that they are in the batters box and they must remain there until the ball is pitched."Unless an umpire agrees to call, "Time" at the request of the batter, the pitcher may pitch at will, and the umpire can call a strike if the pitcher throws the ball down the middle of the plate without a batter there. If a batter refuses a request to re-enter the box, the umpire can call a strike even without a pitch.