answersLogoWhite

0

When their is a AL team is the home there is a dh. When a NL team is the home team there is no dh.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
FranFran
I've made my fair share of mistakes, and if I can help you avoid a few, I'd sure like to try.
Chat with Fran

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How does the DH work in the World Series?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about General History

Who was the first DH in a World Series?

Well, the first DH in World Series to enter the batter's box to bat was Dan Driessen of the Cincinnati Reds in the bottom of the 1st inning of Game 1 of the 1976 World Series against the New York Yankees. But before he could complete his at bat Tony Perez, who was on first base, was caught stealing for the final out of the inning.The Yankees' DH, Lou Piniella, was the first batter in the top of the 2nd inning. He doubled to right field.So, the first DH to take a pitch in the World Series was Dan Driessen. The first DH to complete a plate appearance in the World Series was Lou Piniella.


Has the pitcher only hit at the American League ballparks in the World Series or was it started after 1974?

The history of the designated hitter in the World Series: 1973-1975: DH was NOT used in the World Series. 1976-1985: DH was used in even numbered years and not used in odd numbered years. 1986-present: DH used in American League ballparks and not used in National League ballparks.


What determines the designated hitter in the World Series?

World Weries games played in the American League team's home field will allow designated hitters, those played in the National League team's home field will not have DH's.


Who are the people Hatshepsut refers to?

your mom guff chad buff dh dh


Can a relief pitcher hit instead of the DH?

Yes. There is no obligation to use the DH in baseball. A somewhat confusing question. A relief pitcher can be used AS the DH. However normal DH rules apply and that player could not pitch in the game. A relief pitcher can pinch hit FOR the DH as well. That pitcher then becomes the DH and normal rules apply. I am pretty sure that a relief pitch that enters the game as a pitcher can not be inserted into the lineup for the DH but I could be wrong. Of course you don't have to use the DH but you can't use a relief pitcher in your lineup unless he's playing a position in the field. Yes. When you bring in the relief pitcher, you can at that time have him hit in place of the DH. You can also have him pinch-hit for the DH at a later point in the game. Note that in both cases, there is no longer a DH and all pitchers must hit. Baseball rule 6.10.