answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A bunt is typically designed to advance a base runner. It is most often employed when the infield is playing deep. As a bunt attempt increases the odds of making contact with the ball, bunts are often used by National League pitchers who aren't paid for their skill at the plate.

A sacrifice bunt designed to advance a runner from first or second base is generally laid down in the area between the mound and first base - behind the runner. A bunt designed to advance a runner from third base is generally placed between the mound and third base.

Bunts can also be attempted for a base hit. A "suicide squeeze" is one of the most exciting plays in Baseball. It results when a runner on third base breaks for home on the pitch as the batter attempts a bunt. A bunt made with two strikes that rolls foul is a third strike and the batter is out. This differs from other foul balls.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-11-15 00:37:48
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why would the batter bunt?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When can a batter not bunt?

A batter can bunt anytime ...whether it's wise to bunt is a different story.


If a batter fouls on a bunt on the third strike is he out?

If the batter has 2 strikes and attempts to bunt but fouls the ball he is out.


Is a squeeze bunt a hit?

It would depend on the situation: - If the runners are all safe and the out went to 1st and the batter was out, then it would be a Sac Bunt - If the play went to any other base/home (no matter if they are safe or out) then it would be a Fielders Choice - If on the bunt, it is determined that the batter would have been safe at 1st even if the play would have went directly to 1st, then it would be a hit


When bunting can the batter show bunt then pull back and swing?

Yes, a batter can show bunt and then pull back and swing. It is fairly common.


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


Is a slap bunt that goes foul on the third strike a out?

Any bunt that goes foul on a third strike is an out, so long as the umpire rules it a bunt. If the batter crosses legs to attempt a slap bunt, it will be ruled a bunt.


Runner on first Batter lays down sacrifice bunt Pitcher fields ball and throws to second Runner safe at second Is this scored a fielder's choice or a sacrifice bunt for the batter?

Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


What is a slash bunt?

A slash bunt is when the batter attemps to bunt the bat and while the ball comes back the batter swings instead of bunts and the main point of this is to hit it right by the foul line over the heads of the third and first basemen


Batter squares to bunt and doesnt swing?

a bunt is not a swing unless the plain of the plate is broken ... and or the batter dose not pull back the bat when the pitch is made ...Answer:I understand this question asking, "What happens if a batter squares to bunt but pulls back on the pitch?" --- if this is the situation, then when the batter pulls back the bunt the pitch would be called a ball or strike just like any other pitch. If he does not pull the bat back before the ball crosses the plate then it is a strike, much like a missed swing


Is double hit of the bat on a bunt an out?

It depends. A) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is bunted straight up into the air and the batter hits the ball again - batter is out. B) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is hit into the infield near home plate, the batter deliberately drops or throws the bat so it hits the ball a second time - batter is out. C) batter attempts to bunt the ball, then drops the bat on the way to first base, the ball incidentally rolls against the bat, ball is live and playable.


Does a sacrifice bunt hurt your batting average?

No, since a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat the batter's average stays the same.


What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.


Can a batter bunt on the 3rd strike?

he can if he wants but if he fouls it, then he is out.


Is it a strike if the batter does not pull the bat back trying to bunt?

Yes. The act of squaring around to bunt the ball is considered identical to swinging. So in this case it would be considered identical to swinging and missing the ball. The batter does not have to pull the bat back.Just simply holding the bat over the plate is not a strike.The batter must make an attempt at the ball, squaring to bunt and holding the bat completly still is not an attempt at the ball and therefore is not a strike


If a right-handed batter bunts down the first base line is it considered a drag bunt?

A batter attempts a drag bunt when he begins running while bunting the ball. Righthanded batters can do it, but it is easier for lefthanded hitters because they are closer to first base.AnswerNo, that would not be a drag bunt. If a right hander ever did a slap bunt they would have to take off running out of the batters box towards 3rd and drag it down the 3rd base line. Your question is a push bunt as you are "pushing" the ball away from you, rather then "dragging" it with you. The reason right handers don't "drag bunt" is because well 1 as mentioned above they would have to run towards 3rd if they did do it, but the main reason is because if they tried to run towards 1st as they are bunting, they would have to cross the path of the plate making it impossible to hit or bunt the ball. You will see right handers "walk the box" which is similar to what a left hander does on a drag bunt


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


How is a bunt scored when advancing a runner but reaching first with no error from the fielder?

This depends on the situation. If the fielder threw to get the runner out and the batter reached 1st due to this, then it would be considered a sacrafice by ruling it a Fielders Choice, and no hit or error would be charged. If the batter bunted and had good placement and was able to reach 1st due to a good bunt and beating the throw, then it would be considered a hit


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.


What is it if a batter holds the bat over the plate?

A bunt attempt.


Is it possible for a batter to get a sacrifice bunt if the bases are loaded If so How?

It would be possible but very unlikely. According to MLB Rule 10.09(a): "Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error." MLB Rule 10.09(b) states: "Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base.". It would be very difficult to sacrifice with the bases loaded since when the defense sees the batter turn around to bunt their first thought would be to field the bunt and throw home to get the lead runner on a force out. Home would be the closest base to the fielder that fields the bunt so that would be the first base they would throw to. That would make a sacrifice bunt very difficult. However, if the fielder threw home and the runner from third beat the throw (maybe the runner was running with the pitch) and was called safe, the batter could be credited with a sacrifice per rule 10.09(b) above. This type of play, where the batter attempts a bunt when the runner from third base takes off for home when the pitch is delivered, is called a 'suicide squeeze'. Or, if the fielder made a poor throw and the runner was called safe at home, the batter could be credited with a sacrifice per rule 10.09(a) above. The 'suicide squeeze' play is something you might see a few times per season. It got its name from the fact that if the bunter misses the ball, or maybe the defense senses the play and calls for a pitchout, the runner coming home from third is going to be easily tagged out by the catcher.


How many foul balls can you hit before you are considered out?

you can hit'em all day long If it's on a bunt attempt and you fouled on the third attempt you would be out. So if the batter attempted to bunt on all three strikes, and fouled all of them, (3) would be the limit.


Is batter out if bunted foul tip is caught by the catcher?

Only if it is on the third strike would the batter be out if he swung through the ball. Otherwise it would just be a strike. If it was a true bunt attempt and the ball did not go directly into the catchers mitt but was deflected up a bit, the batter would be out on any strike.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


If the batter attempts to bunt and misses and steps on home plate is he out?

No. There is no rule prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate.


If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).