answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

1.) For a strikeout, the catcher must actually hang on to the ball in his mitt. If he drops it, or never has it in the first place, the runner can run to first and the catcher must tag or throw him out. 2.) The ball isn't out of play if he catches it. Catch -> Out. That simple. Mr Know-it-all [GRIN]. (I don't answer enough of these darn things, heheheh.) Basically, Glenn, a player must have posession of the ball for an out to be recorded. On every play, the ball is caught by the defensive team (pop out, line out, tag). The same is true for a strike out. The catcher must have possession of the ball to record the out. In the case of a passed ball or wild pitch, he does not therefore, no out and the runner may attempt to advance to first. the ball is only out of play if you can't catch it or use it to make a play, therefore it is called out of play when fouled into the crowd/anywhere the player cant get to it. Not only can the batter advance to first base if the catcher does not catch the ball, he can attempt to advance if the third strike skips in the dirt and is CAUGHT by the catcher; the catcher must catch the third strike cleanly to record the strike-out. In regard to the foul ball/out-of-play ball, they are 2 different things; a foul ball is, in fact, in play and the out can be made if caught on the fly (and runners on base can tag up and advance at their own peril). An out-of-play ball is a not-playable ball. Out-of-play boundaries are agreed upon prior to the start of the game by the umpires and coaches of both teams.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-08-13 20:35:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: Why can a runner go to 1st on a dropped 3rd strike by the catcher and why is a foul ball that is caught an out if it is out of play?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.


Does batter have to swing to be legal runner on a dropped third strike?

no it just has to be a strike


In baseball is it a dropped third strike if the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt with the count 2-2 and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on one bounce?

It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


Dropped third strike?

Anytime the ball hits the dirt on a 3rd strike it is considered a "dropped 3rd strike", even if it is executed as the pitcher and catcher wanted (ie. curveball in the dirt). On a dropped 3rd strike, the batter can try and advance by running to 1st base, as with any runner, the defensive team will need to tag the batter out or throw to 1st base. If the runner walks to the dugout, the umpire can call him outon his disgression. The dropped 3rd strike rule does not apply if there is a runner on 1st base with less then 2 outs. If there are 2 outs, all runners required to run would be forced to advance and be safe for this rule to apply


When is it necessary for a catcher to secure an out by tagging the batter or throwing to first on a strike out?

When there is a dropped 3rd strike


Why do you get to run to first base after a dropped third strike?

The ball is still on play on a dropped-third strike and a runner can attempt to reach first base as long as a runner doesn't occupy first base prior to the dropped pitch.


Is a dropped third strike in fastpitch softball an error on the catcher?

It depends, it may be the batter or the catcher but mostly catcher. They missed the pass.


Is it a strike if the catcher doesn't catch a strike?

The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.


Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.


Is it considered a strike or a ball if a throw by the pitcher bounces before the catcher has it but still passes through the strike zone?

A dropped third strike is a "special case". When a 3rd strike is dropped, the batter becomes a "runner". If the ball bounced as you described and it was a 3rd strike, it will be treated as a hit. Any pitched ball that hits in front of the plate is considered a ball unless, of course, the batter swings at it.


Does batter have to swing at third strike to be eligible to advance on dropped pitch?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


When does the catcher need to tag a batter that has struck out?

whenever the third strike is dropped


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


If the catcher catches a foul tip on a first or a second strike can the runner still advance or does he have to go back to his base if he is stealing?

He can advance, it's a live ball if caught sharply and directly.


Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?

Yes. In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike?

Absolutely but only if the batter safely reaches first base. A dropped (actually uncaught) third strike is a live ball.


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


Do catchers get put outs for strikeouts?

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist. Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


Can a runner go to 1st on a dropped third strike by the catcher if 1st base is occupied?

No, If first base is open you are allowed to try to run to first on a missed 3rd strike but if it is occupied then you will immediately be called out unless there are two outs. If there are two outs the uncaught third strike rule does not apply.


What are the ways a batter can be declared out in softball?

Three strikes, dropped third strike (if the catcher gets them), breaks the rules/ anything illegal or a caught fly ball if the ball doesn't hit the ground.


Is it an unearned run when the catcher throws to first to throw the batter out on a dropped third strike?

yes


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).