The holder
In American football, if the quarterback pitches the ball to the running back and the running back drops it, the running back is charged with the fumble. The quarterback's pitch is considered a forward pass, and the responsibility for securing the ball lies with the player receiving it. Therefore, the running back would be credited with the fumble in this situation.
Yes.
No, for the player to get credit for a sack he would have to tackle the quarterback behind the line of scrimmage. The quarterback would have to be declared down for it to be counted as a sack. If the quarterback is down then there couldn't be a fumble. So therefore there could be no fumble recovery.
No. A fumble on the quarterback/center exchange is always charged to the QB, regardless of whose error it was.
If the pass is ruled a catch then a fumble..the receiver receives the yards from the pass...and is credited with a fumble
If a quarterback completes a pass near the endzone, which is then fumbled by the receiver and recovered in the endzone by another teammate, he is credited with a 0-yard touchdown pass to the player that recovered the fumble. Strange rule, but it happens occasionally.
Through the 2012 season, the Steelers active leader is quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, with 17 fumble recoveries.The active leader on defense is linebacker LaMarr Woodley, with 9.
Yes, if an offensive player fumbles the ball after gaining positive yardage and another player from the same team recovers the fumble and advances the ball, that player is credited with rushing yards. The yards gained from the point of the fumble recovery to where the play is whistled dead count as rushing yards for the player who recovered the fumble. This is because the play is considered a continuation of the rushing attempt, despite the fumble.
its where the qb is sacked but if he fumbles it its where the line of scrimage is If there is no fumble, hence no turnover, then the negative yardage is where the quarterback is officially tackled. On a fumble and turnover and downed recovery by the other team, I believe that the negative yardage would then be calculated from the line of scrimmage to where the opponent recovers.
That depends on the angle the ball travelled. If the receiver is behind or exactly to the side of the quarterback and the ball travels at an angle parallel to or away from the line of scrimmage, the throw is considered a lateral and would be a fumble if the receiver did not catch it. If the receiver is in front of the quarterback and the ball travels at an angle towards the line of scrimmage, the throw is considered a forward pass and would be an incomplete pass.
Any backward pass (which is what a lateral would be) that is not caught is a fumble in both the NCAA and the NFL.
Yes. The running back will get credit for the number of yards past the line of scrimmage the fumble occurred. If the line of scrimmage was at the defense's 20 yard line and the fumble occurred at the defense's 14 yard line, the running back would be credited with 6 yards rushing. If the line of scrimmage was at the defense's 14 yard line and the fumble occurred at the defense's 20 yard line, the running back would be credited with -6 yards rushing.