answersLogoWhite

0


Want this question answered?

Be notified when an answer is posted

Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When should a third baseman hold his runner like a first baseman?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Heres the situation runner on 1st and 2nd with no outs a ground ball is hit to the third baseman but the runner beat the third baseman to the bag and the hitter made it to first fielders choice?

first choice would probably be first base


Where should the third baseman stand with a runner at third stand to catch a pickoff throw from the catcher?

A few feet behind the runner when they lead off. The shortstop could loop around instead of the third baseman if you want it to be a surprise.


Should you send a baserunner from third base to home on a ground ball hit to the third baseman with less than two outs?

Generally, no. Absolutely not. If the baserunner break home on contact, he would be hosed at the plate by the third baseman. If he freezes, and waits for the third baseman to commit to throwing to first, the first baseman would have plenty of time to throw home and nail the runner.


Can you get a rbi when batter is safe by a fielding error?

if the out would be the third no, it is up to the descrestion of the scorekeeper for example, if there was a runner on third with one out and you bunted the and the third baseman overthrew first, then it would be an rbi, but if the second baseman missed the throw to the first baseman with two outs, then there would be no rbi


What are the coverage responsibilities of each infielder on a bunt with no outs and a runner at third base?

The first baseman should stay close to the bag but out a little more then usual so incase she needs to run back to the bag to get an out if the ball in thrown in her derection to get an out. The second baseman shouldcome up from her position too. More then the first baseman should because if there's just a runner on first and a batter then there is no need for a second bas out. The short-stop should come up more as well. I the ball comes to her she can either get the out at first or at home or if the runner goes for home but decides to go back then she can get the runner out at third base. The third baseman should go up but still stay by her bag more like the first basemen. She should be ready for the throw to home or an out at third if the girl changes her mind about coming back from home to third. Stay close to the bag but out too so it will be easier to throw the third base runner out at home so the other team won't score.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


What is a Baseball Assist?

A baseball 'assist' is given when a fielder 'assists' in the making of an 'out' of an opposing player. For example, a ground ball is hit to the third baseman who throws the ball to the first baseman standing on first base who makes the 'out' by touching first base before the runner who hit the ball does. The first baseman is credited with a 'put out' and the third basemen is credited with an 'assist.'


Who was the first third baseman of the NY Mets?

Don Zimmer was the Mets' first third baseman. Naturally, he made an error on the Mets' first defensive play.


In baseball is the third baseman allowed to block the base against the incoming runner?

If the 3rd baseman blocks the base without having the ball in his possession, it's obstruction, and the runner could be awarded home by the umpire, but at the very least, the runner will be safe at 3B.


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


Does a runner need to be tagged if he overruns third base when the bases are loaded to be called out or does the third baseman only need to touch third base?

he needs to be tagged


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


Is it considered an error if a third baseman drops a line drive but gets a runner out who decides to try for home from third - unforced - and gets thrown out?

No error, batter is credited with reaching first on a fielder's choice.


Is a first baseman's glove bigger than a third baseman's glove?

Yes. A typical third baseman glove is 11.5 to 12 inches and first baseman's gloves are usually between 12 and 14 inches. First baseman's gloves fingers are also webbed differently so it makes it eaiser to catch a ball


What does a third baseman do in baseball?

He tags out a runner going to third, and can throw pretty much anywhere. He usually throws home if a runner is coming in to score. He tries to catch a lot of pop up fouls.


Can a first baseman go in the base line of the batter running to first?

If the first baseman is making a play on a batted ball it is the responsibility of the runner to yield. If there is contact the runner may be declared out. If the first baseman is fielding a thrown ball and there is contact the umpire will usually call the play as it happens and consider the contact incidental. If the first baseman is standing in the baseline while making no play on the ball, he can be legally knocked down and the umpire can rule that the contact prevented the runner from advancing and award as many bases as he determines. That will generally just be one extra base unless the runner gets up and reaches second safely and is thrown out at third. When the contact occurs the umpire should have his hand out in a fist signifying that there has been obstruction and then make his ruling after the play is over. No base will be awarded if there is a runner on first when the batter hits the ball and said runner cannot reach third safely. In this case the contact becomes moot as the runner on second may not be awarded an extra base for obstruction on a player behind him. Many teams put a big kid at first to stand in the way and delay the runners. If an appeal to the coaches and umpires does not get him to move then your players will have to run him over or take the contact get up and try for the next base. If the first baseman is just plain "purposely" blocking the bag as the runner has arrived and the ball is on its way but not there yet the batter should be awarded first base.


Runner turns third base the 1st baseman throws wild to home allowing runner to score Is this an earned or unearned run?

Unearned, as it was scored on a throwing error.


What happens when batter bunts. throw goes to third runner is safe?

The runner is safe at third and the runner is safe at first.


If you have a runner on first and a runner on third and the runner on first attempts to steal second at the same time the runner on third takes off and scores does the batter get the RBI?

ed Parker isn't


If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territoty the runner is out and the batter is awarded a base hit. How is the out officially recorded in the scorebook?

First, the runner is only out if the fielder has not had a chance at the ball yet. If the ball goes through the 2nd baseman's legs and hits the runner, it's still a live ball. The out is credited to the defensive player closest to the ball when the ball hit the baserunner. For example, if the runner was on third base, more than likely the third baseman would get the unassisted putout. By the way... this example should never happen. Baserunners are taught to lead off third base in foul territory. But it does happen every now and then. Even in the majors.


Why doesn't the ball go to the first baseman when the ball is thrown around the horn?

it does it is thrown from the catcher to the third baseman who throws it to the second baseman who throws it to the short stop who throws it to the first baseman who throws it to the pitcher


What is the penalty if a third baseman is not in fair territory when the pitcher delivers the ball to the batter?

It is a balk. Same for the first baseman.


Who are the infielders for the dodgers?

First Baseman James Loney, Second Baseman Juan Uribe, Shortstop Rafael Furcal, and Third Baseman Casey Blake.


Who are the participants?

there is a short stop, a catcher, a pitcher, a first baseman, second baseman, third baseman, left fielder, center fielder, and a right fielder.


If you have a runner on first base and a runner on third base can the pitcher fake throw to first and then throw to third?

Yes. But he has to be careful not to balk.