answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Infield fly pop

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When Must stay on base til ball is caught?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batter hits a fair ball and fails to touch first base are the base runners ahead of her allowed to score?

Yeah they can. They can only stay put if the ball is caught as a fly.


When must a base runner tag up to advance to the next base?

When the batter hits a fly ball and there are less than 2 out the runners have to stay where they are until either the ball is caught or until they know for a fact that the ball won't be caught. If the ball is caught, they have to tag up, otherwise they can just keep on running.


In a game of softball what is the meaning of the phrase tagging up?

a tag up is when the batter hits a pop-fly and the runner(s) on base must go back to the base touch it and then can continue to run. If they do not tag up they can be called out if they dont run back to the base.


Why do you have to run on a past ball strike out in baseball?

Because if you make it to first base before the catcher throws you out you are allowed to stay on the base and the game continues.


If bases are loaded and the batter is tagged out is there still a force out on the other runners?

No. But this rule does not come into effect until AFTER the force out at first base occurs. In other words, until that force out at first happens, the runner who was on first must advance. But AFTER the force out occurs, the runner who was on first need not do so. If a first baseman steps on first and then immediately fires to second base, the person covering second base must tag out the runner coming towards second base. I've seen twenty-year veterans of MLB forget this -- they take the throw from the first baseman after a force out at first base, step on second base, and then walk away without tagging the runner.


When you throw a ball onto the ground why does it stop after a while?

Because of newtons 1st law of motion, what ever is at rest must stay at rest, what ever is in motion must stay in motion


When can a player lead off the base in volleyball?

Volleyball does not have bases . We do have positions though . Players may not switch positions without a substitution before the ball is served . After the ball leaves the server's hands the players are aloud to move wherever they wish on the court . But until the ball is hit they must stay in their positions without overlapping .


On a ground ball If the runner on first base never leaves the base and the batter is put out by firstbaseman stepping on first can runner stay since force is off?

yes


A batter is touched by a fair ball and is declared out with a runner on first can the runner on first advance to second or must he stay at first?

If a runner is touched by a fair batted ball, in fair territory, before passing a fielder, it's interference, the ball is dead, the runner is Out, and all other runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance due to the batter being awarded 1B on the play.


How do Pokemon escape from poke balls instead of being caught?

Because they're bigger than the ball that they go into. How do they even stay in the balls is the real question my friend :)


In softball when are the fielders able to use a force out?

Hello. A force out can be used when the runner is 'forced' to move to the next base. For example, when there's a baserunner at first and the batter hits the ball, there are force outs at both first (where the batter must go) and second (since the batter is coming to first, it forces the baserunner to second). However, if the ball is caught, the baserunner may stay at first since the batter is out. If the baserunner is not 'forced' to move to the next base, a force out cannot be used. For example, when there's a baserunner at second, first is empty and the batter hits the ball, there is only a force out at first. Since the baserunner on second does not have to yield her base to a runner directly behind her, she must be tagged to make the out if she tries to take third. Even in a situation where a force out will work, a tag is also an out. So IMO if the runner is off base and you can tag her, do it, then look to see if there are other outs that could be made.


What should a pitcher do when a catcher misses a ball and the ball rolls towards the fence?

In general, if there are base runners, the pitcher should run to cover home. If there are no runners on, the pitcher can just stay on the mound.