In football the position behind the line of scrimmage changes depending on if the offense, defense, or special teams is on the field. In the offense it is the quarterback and possibly the running backs. The defense has the safeties, linebackers, and defensive backs playing off the line. In special teams it would be the kicker or punter.
By definition, a lateral is a pass that is thrown sideways to or behind the passer and is legal anywhere on the field, behind the line of scrimmage or beyond the line of scrimmage.
On the offensive side, nobody has to be in a down position on the line of scrimmage, but there must be six men on the line. The defense does not have any regulations as to where they must line up on the line of scrimmage.
No! A pass is only legal if it is thrown from behind the line of scrimmage. A pass is illegal if it is thrown from in front of the line of scrimmage.
If a quarterback and the entire ball are in front of the line of scrimmage then a forward pass can no longer be thrown but a lateral is still a legal play. However, by the act of crossing the line of scrimmage, the quarterback does not lose the right to throw a forward pass as long as after crossing the line scrimmage, the ball returns behind and is thrown from behind the line scrimmage.
10 yards from the spot of the foul. So if the hold occurred 5 yards behind the line of scrimmage, then the penalty would be a 15 yard penalty from the previous line of scrimmage. The down would be replayed.
a sack is when a person tackles the QB behind the line of scrimmage.
When the defense tackles the quarterback behind the line of scrimmage for a loss.
When they are five yards behind the line of scrimmage they call that the SHOTGUN formation.
In the NFL, there is no such thing as pass interference (PI) on forward passes that do not go past the line scrimmage but I recently watched a college football game in which a PI was called on a forward that never reached the line of scrimmage even though I always believed that there is no such thing as PI if such pass was in the backfield (behind the line of scrimmage). So I am not clear on the rule concerning passes that do not cross the line of scrimmage, in college football.
Not in American football. Kicks must be taken from behind the line of scrimmage. In Canadian football, however, this would be legal.
The defense can line up anywhere behind the line. None have to be on the line.
Generally, the holder kneels down six yards behind the line of scrimmage for a field goal attempt.
anyone as long as there behind the line of scrimmage
It depends on where the quarterback is standing in relation to the receiver. If the pass is forward, it is still a pass even if the receiver is behind the line of scrimmage. If the pass is backwards, it is considered a lateral and therefore a run.
...still a football. If it's not caught, its an incomplete pass. If its thrown and hits the ground behind the line of scrimmage, its a grounded ball, which is a penalty.
A sack is when the quarterback is tackled behind the line of scrimmage before he can throw a forward pass/lateral. Tackling the quarterback behind the lime of scrimmage on a running play is not considered a sack.
USFFA Rules do not allow it in the true sense of a sneak where the center touches the ball to the hands of the QB, retains it and runs with it. A player who is behind the scrimmage line may hand the ball forward to a backfield teammate who is also behind that lihe; or to a teamrnate who is also on the scrimmage line when theball was snapped, provided that teammate left the line position, faced his own end line and was at least one yarb behind the scrimmage line when player received the ball... Pe"a/ty; .5 yatds from spot of foul;also, loss of down if by TeamA before team possession changes during a scrimmage down.
Yes, as long as he is behind the line of scrimmage when he passes it, it doesn't matter if he has crossed it before. No, once a quaterback crosses the line of scrimmage he is considered a runner and can only pitch the ball backwards
the Quarterback is one quarter the distance behind the line of scrimmage as the fullback.
Absolutely! I should know...I was penalized once for this!
Provided they have the ball, you can tackle them wherever you like.
From the line of scrimmage.