answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The goalkeeper is permitted to handle a ball received directly from an opponent's throw-in. If the throw is from a teammate (or himself), an indirect free kick will be awarded to the other team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-03-09 03:58:33
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Math and Arithmetic

25 cards

Convert this number to scientific notation

An arrow is shot straight up at an initial velocity of 250 ms How long will it take to hit the ground

Convert this number to scientific notation 278000

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
5.0
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
1 Review

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the penalty if the goalkeeper handles the ball from a throw in in his penalty area?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a goalkeeper throw a ball directly into other goal from his penalty area?

If they can throw it that far without it being stopped, then there is nothing to stop them doing so.


Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.


Can a keeper run up to the penalty box throw the ball forward leave the penalty area and kick it further?

Yes. The goalkeeper may leave the penalty area at any time during play, but cannot touch the ball with his hands while outside of the area.


Within what area is the goalkeeper able to hold ball with hands?

The penalty area.


Who can be in the penalty area when a penalty kick is taken?

When a penalty kick is taken, only the kicker, the goalkeeper, the referee, and one assistant referee are allowed to be inside the penalty area.


When a player is denied in a penalty area by a goalkeeper whithout the hand of the goal keeper touching the ball and the player got down in contact with the goalkeeper what will be the decission?

If an attacker was fouled in the penalty area by anyone on the defending team, including the goalkeeper, then the resulting restart would be a penalty kick from the penalty mark for the team that was fouled. In this instance, it seems to point to a foul.


If a defender takes a goal kick and passes it to his own goalkeeper on the edge of the penalty area is the goalkeeper allowed to pick it up and carry it back into the penalty area?

In short, no. A goal kick is not complete (the ball in not yet in play) until the whole of the ball crosses the whole of the penalty area line and into the field of play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before it completely leaves the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken. If the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after the ball has left the penalty area and become "in-play", then he is guilty of a handling infraction because the ball is not within the keeper's own penalty area anymore. Either the ball is still in the penalty area or it isn't; it can't be both. This is all without even considering the fact that a goalkeeper cannot handle a ball that has been intentionally kicked to him by a teammate, the so-called "pass-back" rule.


What is the area of goal keeper?

The area within which a goalkeeper may usually legally handle the ball is called the penalty area, and measures 44 yards across and 18 yards deep. The goalkeeper may leave this area, but is treated like any other player while outside of the penalty area.


Can a goal keeper go in to the other team's penalty area and pick the ball up?

No, the only place a goalkeeper may handle the ball is in his own penalty area.


Can the opposition be in the penalty area whilsta goal kick is being taken?

Not legally. No player is allowed in the penalty area whilst a goal kick is being taken other than the player taking the goal kick (usually the goalkeeper). If anotehr outfield player takes the goal kick then the goalkeeper can be in the penalty area. No player is allowed the touch the ball after the kick is taken until it leaves the penalty area.


What area can the goalkeeper handle the ball?

The goal keeper may touch the ball with his hands and arms in his team's penalty area.


What punishment does Goalkeeper in soccer get when he handles ball outside penalty area?

If it's deliberate handling, he gives away a direct free kick. If he's the last defending player and stops an opponent from scoring, he can be sent off.


What is a penalty goal in soccer?

A penalty kick is awarded for an infraction within the penalty area. When the kick is laid up the goalkeeper is not allowed to leave his/her line before the ball has been kicked.


Is it against any rule if the goalkeeper leaves the penalty area in soccer?

It is not against any rule of soccer if a goalkeeper leaves the penalty area. He has the same rights and privileges on the field of play as any other player, except that he gets the added privilege of handling the ball within his own penalty area. It is only against a rule if the goalkeeper is handling the ball with any part of his hand, arm, or shoulder when leaving the penalty area; it will be a handling foul, direct free kick to opposing team from just outside the penalty area where the GK carried the ball, and possibly a caution (yellow card) if the referee believes the act was unsporting conduct.


Is deliberate handling a direct or indirect free kick offense?

Deliberate handling is a direct free kick offense. However, a goalkeeper who handles the ball within his own penalty area, having received it directly from a teammate's pass, teammate's throw-in, or at any time for longer than 6 seconds, will have committed an indirect-free-kick infraction.


Name the area of the field whereby the goalkeeper is allowed to handle the ball?

It is called the penalty box and is the biggest of the two boxes and is touching the half circle or penalty arc.


Can a goalkeeper touch the ball that passed by teammate when an opponent is in the penalty box?

No, the goalkeeper cannot touch the ball directly after a teammate has kicked it to him. The presence of an opponent in the penalty area is irrelevant. The Laws of the Game do not make accommodations for bad play or poor strategy.


Can a goalkeeper move the ball from outside of the penalty area to the inside with his foot and then pick it up?

if it was not a pass back then he's allowed


What is the importance of the semicircle outside the penalty area in soccer?

It is used during the taking of a penalty kick to ensure that all players except the kick taker and the goalkeeper are both outside of the penalty area and are at least 10 yards from the spot where the kick will be taken.


When is the goalkeeper not allowed to pick up the ball?

When their are outside their own Penalty Area. When their teammate passes it to them deliberately with their feet. When their teammate directly performs a throw-in to them. After, after having possession of the ball in their hands, they release the ball. (dribbling doesn't count)


What is the pass back rule in soccer?

The so-called "Back Pass" rule means that the goalkeeper cannot handle the ball, even within his own penalty area, if it was deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. If the goalkeeper violates this rule, an indirect free kick is awarded to the attacking team at the point where the goalkeeper handled the ball. Note that a penalty kick can never be awarded for a goalkeeper's handling.


What is the penalty for a football goalie picking up the ball from a throw?

If the throw in is directly from an opponent, there is no infraction. If the throw in is from a team mate, and the keeper deliberately touched it in his own penalty area, then the restart is an indirect free kick for the opposing team at the point of the infraction. If he does this outside of his own penalty area, then the restart is a direct free kick.


May a goalkeeper touch the ball with is hand when standing on the edge of the penalty area?

As long as the ball is inside their penalty area a goal keeper may handle the ball. The position of the ball is important. The position of the goal keeper is not.


Can a goalkeeper be fairly charged outside his own goal area?

Certainly he can. The penalty area allows him to handle the ball WITHIN that area, but as long as the tackle is legal, he can be challenged wherever he is on the pitch.


What happens if a soccer ball touches a player's hands?

If it's not the goalkeeper and outside the area, and the referee thinks it's deliberate, then it's a free kick to the opposition. If it's not the goalie and inside the area, and deliberate, then it's a penalty. If the goalie handles outside the area, then it's a free kick - this is most likely to result in a sending off as well.