answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

You have to take a penalty drop, which is one shot. So if you start a hole, and hit your tee shot into the water, you take your penalty drop and then play your approach, which will be your third shot.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-29 13:39:09
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
โžก๏ธ
See all cards
4.33
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the penalty for a water hazard relief?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the penalty for grounding your club in a water hazard?

1 shot penalty


What is the Procedures for taking relief from casual water hazard in golf?

There is no such thing as a casual water hazard, there is either casual water or a water hazard. Casual water is anywhere through the green where you take your stance and what is clearly visible. To get relief from this you get a one club length drop from the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole. A water hazard is usually marked with yellow stakes. If you are in the water hazard you have the option to play the ball or take a penalty drop (1 stroke) You can * Take a two club length drop, from the nearest point of relief (which is the spot where you are no longer in the hazard) * Use the designated drop zone * Go back to as near as possible to where you played that previous shot from * or, go back as far back as you want, keeping the point where your ball entered the hazard between yourself and the pin and play another shot. (you can't drop in another hazard)


A ball crosses a water hazard and rolls back into the water?

The ball is played from where it stops. If you can't hit it out of the hazard, take the drop and penalty.


If a golfer's ball is in a hazard and he encounters an animal and fears for his safety does he get free relief?

He gets relief from an animal as an Outside Agency. A drop would be allowed without penalty. It cannot be closer to the hole. If the ball is in a hazard, the drop would be allowed either in the same hazard or another similar hazard, as long as it isn't closer to the hole.


Where do you place a golf ball after it goes into the water?

As far back as you want keeping the point where the ball entered the water between you and the pin, two club lengths from the nearest point of relief on line of where the ball entered the hazard or go back and replay the previous shot. You must take full relief, so you cannot drop it in a hazard, each option costs a penalty shot.


What happens if golf ball goes into water?

If you hit the ball into the water there is a one shot penalty. You can either drop the ball 2 club lengths from the edge of the hazard or you can go back as far you like in line with the point where the ball entered the hazard. Or you can even go back to the tee, you will be playing 3 off the tee. That is not strictly correct. The question asks only about "water". There are two "types" of water in the Rules of Golf. i.e. Casual Water(CW) , which is a temporary collection of water, and water in a water hazard. There are two types of water hazard i.e Regular water hazard(WH) and a lateral water hazard, (LWH). It is still a WH or LWH even if there is no water in it. If your ball is at rest in Casual Water, you are required to proceed, without penalty, under Rule 25-1. If your ball is at rest in eithe a WH or LWH, you must proceed under Rule26-1.Note. If your ball lies in a LWH you have an additional relief optionviz.Rule26-1c. Which ever relief option you wish to prcoceed under in Rule26-1 it will cost you a penalty stroke. However, a player is not obliged to take relief. He ALWAYS has the option to play the ball as it lies, Rule 13-1.


When playing golf on Sunday my ball landed on a path in which you get free relief My nearest point of relief would have put me in the middle of a large conifer tree What should happen?

b. Relief Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows: (i) Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.


What is the penalty for a ball landing in the water?

There is no penalty for the ball landing in the water...only for taking it out without a stroke. Technically, (assuming "the water" means in a water hazard) you could play it out of the hazard (with certain restrictions). It might just barely be in the margin of the water and you might be able to play it out without penalty. Assuming you don't want to do that, THEN you take ONE penalty stroke for taking the ball out of the water. You drop (according to the type of hazard) and then play your next stroke. The usual count is "one in, two out"...you hit one stroke in the water, used one stroke taking it out, and then hit your next stroke (hitting 3).


What 2 options are lost from the lateral water hazard?

* Replay the previous shot * Stroke and distance, keeping the point where the ball entered the hazard between you and the flag, drop the ball on either side of the hazard, no nearer the hole. * Two club length drop, from nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole. All the above options carry a one stroke penalty.


What is the penalty for being hit by your own ball while in a hazard?

2 shot penalty


What is the rule for hitting in a water hazard?

If you hit it into a water hazard, you can drop the ball as far back as you want, keeping the point where the ball entered the hazard between you and the flag. Or you can go back to where you hit the previous shot from. It is a one shot penalty for hitting into a water hazard. Interestingly you do not have to find your original ball, you can simply play another, but you must agree with your partners that the ball entered the hazard.


Can you move a lateral water hazard stake if it interferes?

Yes, you may remove a lateral water hazard stake, under no penalty. The only stake you are not allowed to remove is an OB stake, this is because it marks the boundary of the course.


Red stakes are a stroke penalty but not a distance penalty in golf?

Correct! Red is marking a lateral hazard. Ball may be dropped within 2 club lengths of where it crossed the red stakes or if found, played from the hazard with no penalty.


If a ball is struck towards a water hazard and cannot be found what is the ruling?

The key thing is you must know that the ball has went into the water hazard. If it has done so you either play another ball from your original positon, take a two club drop from the edge of the hazard or on a line with the pin and where the ball entered take the ball back as far as you want. There is a one shot penalty for hitting it into the water hazard.


What happens in golf when you hit your shot into the water?

Water hazards: Whenever you see yellow stakes, you know the pond/creek/lake in question is a water hazard. If you hit into a water hazard, you may play the ball as it lies (no penalty), or if the ball is unplayable, choose from these options (with a one-shot penalty):Hit another ball from the spot where you just hit (into the water hazard - try to avoid that this time!).Take the point where your ball crossed the water hazard and drop another ball (you can go back as far as you want, keeping that point between you and the hole).Lateral water hazards: If you're playing by the seaside, the beach is often termed a lateral water hazard. Red stakes mean lateral. Your options are either to play the ball as it lies (no penalty, but risky), or choose one of the following (with a one-stroke penalty):Drop a ball at the point where the ball last crossed the boundary of the hazard - within two club lengths, no nearer the hole.Drop a ball as near as possible to the spot on the opposite margin of the water hazard, the same distance from the hole.Hit another ball from within two club lengths of the spot you just hit from.Take the point where the ball crossed the water hazard and drop another ball as far back as you want, keeping that point between you and the hole.


What happens in golf when you think you hit your shot into the water?

You have two options: You can take a 1 shot penalty and replay the ball from where you originally hit it; or you can take a 1 shot penalty and drop it behind the hazard as far as you want.


Heritage 2010 golf playoff penalty dispute?

Brian Davis was in a hazard, on the back swing he touched a piece of reed which is technically grounding your club in a hazard so he was given a two shot penalty and lost the playoff.


What happens when your golf ball lands on the wrong green?

According to the PGA rule 25.b.3: If the ball lies on the putting green, the player must lift the ball and place it, without penalty, at the nearest point of relief that is not in a hazard.


When a player has addressed the ball outside a hazard and has grounded his club but then has a practice swing first is this deemed as a penalty stroke?

Not if the ball is sitting outside the hazard line.


Options a player in golf has if a ball is hit in a water hazard?

You can play it, but you cannot ground your club unless you are in the process of playing a stroke. Go back as far as you like, keeping the point of entry between you and the flag and take a penalty drop, this costs one stroke. (If you take this option, you must take full relief so you cannot drop it in the hazard) And you must drop no nearer the hole. You can go back to where you played the original stroke from, this also costs a penalty stroke. You can use the drop zone if there is one, this also costs one penalty stroke. You don't need to retrieve your ball if you cannot reach it, or find it, you may play another ball, as long as you and/or playing partners saw or believe your ball entered the hazard.


What happens if you hit your golf ball in a red hazard?

This is known as a lateral hazard, it differs from a water hazard as you can drop on either side of the hazard. There are a couple of options;Take a two club length drop, from the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.Replay the previous shot, from the previous position.Keep the point where the ball entered the hazard between you and the pin, and go back as far as you like.You do have the option of playing the ball as it lies, but remember, you can not ground you club in a hazard.


What is the name of a golf hazard?

Water hazard - yellow stakes, lateral hazard - red stakes and bunkers.


What happens if you hit your golf ball inside a yellow water hazard?

First of all, you can simply play the ball as it lies, however you must not ground your club, if you do so in strokeplay it is a 2 stroke penalty, in matchplay it is loss of the hole. If you hit your ball into the water hazard, interestingly, you do not have to find it, you simply need to know it entered the hazard, if you cannot find it you may substitute another ball. The options from a water hazard are, 1. Play the ball as it lies, 2. Take a 1 stroke penalty drop, two club lengths from the edge of the hazard, keeping the point of entry between you and the flag. (or use the drop zone if one is designated) 3. Take advantage of the stroke and distance rule, (a one stroke penalty) take the ball as far back as you like, again keeping the point of entry between you and the flag. 4. Go back to where you played the last shot from and play another shot from as close to the position as possible (again one stroke penalty)


Why did harrington go to other side of hazard to hit shot after putting ball in water?

This was because when you hit into a water hazard you must take a penalty drop, the rules regarding a penalty drop from a water hazard states you must drop no nearer the hole. If Padraig dropped on the same side of the green that is closer to the hole, so he had to go to the other side. You have referred to the stroke and distance rule, consider this. Under stroke and distance he must keep the point where the ball entered the hazard between himself and the pin, this was impossible. As I have said above, he can not drop nearer the hole, where he hit the ball from is irrelevant. He did have the option of replaying the shot from the original position, but he quickly decided he didn't want to do this.


If you play a provisional ball then discover that your original ball is in a water hazard which is the ball in play?

The ball in the water hazard. You just made a mistake, and must move on. The above is indeed correct, but only if you found the original ball within five minutes of arriving in the area where you believe your ball to be. Keep in mind, a lost ball in a water hazard differs than the normal ruling because you do not actually have to find the ball. If you see your ball, or have been told your ball entered the water hazard you may simply take a penalty drop with another ball.