answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A wild pitch is one that bounces before reaching the catcher that he cannot stop or a pitch that is beyond his normal reach. Most times these pitches go behind him or to his side allowing base runners to advance.

A passed ball is a pitch that is mishandled by the catcher and normally goes behind him or to his side. Base runners may advance on these also.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-21 22:33:54
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a passed ball and a wild pitch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a batter get an RBI with a batter on third with a wild pitch or passed ball?

Only if the bases are loaded and the wild pitch or passed ball is ball four.


Does the batter get credit for an RBI on a passed ball?

No ... no RBI is credited for either a passed ball or a wild pitch.


What is a passed ball in baseball?

A passed ball is given to the catcher if he misses a pitch or fails to keep it from getting away from him. When the pitcher is at fault, it is called a wild pitch.


Is a passed ball from a catcher considered an error?

If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.


The cather throws a passed ball or wild pitch and the ball hits the umpire does the run count?

no it is considered a dead ball


How can a batter get to first without hitting the ball?

Hit by pitch, base on balls, catcher's interference, passed ball or wild pitch on the third strike


Does the batter get credited with an RBI when a runner on third scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

no


Who are the Players who have scored from second on a passed ball or wild pitch?

Jacolby Elsbury of the Red Sox


What is a passed ball?

Passed BallA pitch that should have been fielded by the catcher but was missed, allowing a runner to advance a base.Note: this is not the same thing as a wild pitch, which is scored as the pitchers fault.I presume you mean "passed ball." This is a ball that gets past the catcher when thrown by the pitcher, when the catcher should have caught it. It is distinct from a wild pitch, which is one where the pitcher, not the catcher, is considered to have been at fault. The distinction between the two have no effect on the final score. The decision on whether a ball is a wild pitch or a passed ball is made by the official scorer at the game.


Can a runner on third base steal home on a dropped third strike?

Yes, if it just merely a dropped 3rd strike and he is safe, then he will be credited with a steal, however, if the pitch is ruled a passed ball or wild pitch, then the runner will not be credited with a stolen base, but rather just advancing on a passed ball/wild pitch


Is it a past ball if a catcher blocks a ball but the runners still advance?

It depends; gerenerally if the ball hits the dirt first, it is a wild pitch. A Passed ball is a ball that should have been caught. There is no definitive answer as each scorer has the discretion to call it as they see fit, so while a blocked ball may be ruled a wild pitch by one, it is a passed ball by another. If the runner davances due to the catcher simply being lazy, they are likely to be charged with an error


Why don't passed balls count as errors?

The rules for pitchers and catchers are a little different than for the other players because they are involved in every pitch of the game. A passed ball is considered as a separate statistic and, therefore, is not considered an error. This is similar to a pitcher who throws a wild pitch. The wild pitch is not considered an error because there is a separate statistic to account for wild pitches.


Does a dropped third strike scoring a runner from third give the batter an RBI?

The batter would not be given an RBI, it would be scored a run on a passed ball. If it was a passed ball it would be an unearned run, if it was a wild pitch then it would be an earned run. However, neither pitchers or catchers are given errors on wild pitches or passed balls


If the pitcher threw the ball in the dirt before it reaches the catcher glove is this an error on the pitcher?

No, this would not be an error it would be ruled a wild pitch or passed ball, neither of which are charged with errors


Does the runner have to wait until the ball has been hit to advance to next base?

No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.


If the pitcher throws a ball into the dirt and it gets past the catcher what is it?

It is really up to the official score keeper. If it is a ball the the catch should have been able to catch or block, then it coule be ruled a 'passed ball'. If it is a pitch that lacks control and the catcher has no reasonable chance to get to the ball in the dirt then it is a 'wild pitch'


Is a past ball an error?

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.


Is a wild pitch that advances the runner to second and eventually scores an unearned run?

A wild pitch is considered part of pitching, and therefore a wild pitch contributing to a run does not make that run unearned. Had the runner advanced on a passed ball, or on an error on the pitcher, the run would be unearned, assuming that the run would not have scored anyway had the inning played out the way it did (this sometimes involves a judgment call by the official scorer). For example, if the runner reached second on a passed ball, scored on a single, and there were no further hits in the inning, the run would be unearned. However if after reaching second on the passed ball there were a pair of singles, or an extra base hit, the run probably would be scored as an earned run.


Is a wild pitch an error?

No, a wild pitch is a wild pitch -- it is considered a mistake charged to the pitcher. An "error" in baseball is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can make an "error" but only on a batted or thrown ball.


On a dropped third strike can runners advance?

Yes, a dropped 3rd strike acts the same as a passed ball or a wild pitch so runners can advance to the next base.


Is there an official definition of a 'runner's fielder's choice'?

This is a tricky one. The easiest way to think of it is one runner is out attempting to advance on a wild pitch/pass ball while another runner advances safely. The reason they don't simply score it as "advanced on wild pitch/pass ball" is because the official MLB rules* state that if an out occurs on what would normally be ruled as a wild pitch or pass ball (throwing someone out at home who was trying to score on a ball that got away from the catcher, for example), then it's not actually a wild pitch/pass ball because an out was made on the play. The other runners who advance safely on the play are said to have done so on a "runner's fielder's choice." *See the official comment for MLB rule 10.13 (Wild Pitches And Passed Balls).


Is a passed ball considered a steal in baseball?

No. Passed balls and wild pitches are not considered stolen bases.


Stolen base on a wild pitch?

If the player was stealing as the pitch was delivered, it is a steal. If, however, he leaves once the ball passes the catcher, it is not a steal. If a player is stealing, and there is a wild pitch allowwing the runner to reach third base, it would be a steal and a wild pitch.


Is it a earned run if a batter swings and misses a wild pitch on a third strike and he later scores?

If the batter reaches base as the result of a Wild Pitch, and he later scores, it would be an Earned Run. However, if he reaches base as the result of a Passed Ball, and he later scores, it would be an Unearned Run.


What is baseball pass?

Are you perhaps referring to a "passed ball"? If a pitch gets past the catcher allowing a runner to advance one or more bases then the official scorekeeper has to make a decision. If he/she rules that the catcher should have been able to catch or stop the pitch but did not then the ruling is that the error was made by the catcher and it is a "passed ball". If the scorekeeper rules that the fault lies instead with the pitcher then it is ruled a "wild pitch".