answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The batter does not get first base. They only get first when it hits them directly.

WRONG!

Rule 2.0 states that a ball which hits the ground first then hits the batter is ruled a hit batsman, and he is awarded 1st base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-13 21:40:52
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: The ball hits the ground then hits batter does the batter get first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


Is a batter awarded first base if the ball hits the ground first in womens fast pitch softball?

If it hits the ground then hits the batter then yes. If it just hits the ground then no.


If there is a runner in first base and the batter strikes out swinging and the ball hits the ground pass the catcher is the batter automatically out?

With one out or no outs the batter is out. With two outs the batter may run to first.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


In little league the ball hits the ground then the batter?

The batter should run to 1st base as fast as she/he can if they miss the ball you can run to 2nd base


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


On a ground ball If the runner on first base never leaves the base and the batter is put out by firstbaseman stepping on first can runner stay since force is off?

yes


If a pitched ball in fastpitch softball hits the ground and then hits the batter does the batter get awarded a base?

Yes


If a batter hits a foul ball that is caught by the first base coach in front of first base just before the first baseman can catch the ball is the batter out on interference?

yes

People also asked