answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The starting pitcher.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-04-27 09:45:40
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Starting pitcher finishes 7 inning game tied visitors go ahead in 8th inning new pitcher starts the 8th inning who gets the win?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a pitcher who doesnt get an out in the first inning and is pulled from the game is he still considered the starting pitcher?

A pitcher who doesn't get an out in the 1st inning and who is pulled from the game is still considering the starting pitcher. He will be listed this way on the team spreadsheet and roster.


If the starting pitcher is relieved in the 3rd inning and his team is ahead at that time who gets the win the starting pitcher or the reliever?

I dont want to be mean but, THE RELIEVING PITCHER!!!!


If your team goes ahead in the top of the inning and a new pitcher goes in in the bottom of the inning - which pitcher gets the win - the starting pitcher or the 2nd pitcher?

The pitcher who got the last out in the previous bottom of that inning. In other word, that pitcher can be credited with the win by making only one pitch. If I'm called in as a reliever and get a ground out to end the inning and then my team goes ahead in the top of the next inning, I would be the winning pitcher. Even if i only threw one pitch.


How many inning does a starting pitcher in High school softball need to pitch to earn a win?

Four


What is MLB season record for fewest walks per inning allowed by starting pitcher?

cliff lee


How do you determine the winning pitcher when the starting pitcher leaves before completing the 5th inning?

The win goes to the relief pitcher (assuming there was more than one relief pitcher) whom the official scorer feels was most instrumental in the victory. That relief pitcher must pitch at least 1 full inning, or pitch a crucial out if he pitches less than one inning.


In baseball what is the pattern the infield uses to the throw the baseball prior to starting the inning?

Second to Third to First to Pitcher


How many visits can a pitcher get from a mananger in a game using the speedup rule?

In Major League Baseball there is no limit per game, but on the second visit in an inning, the pitcher must be replaced. Therefore, in a 9-inning game, a manager could visit the starting pitcher 9 times.


How many pitches does a pitcher need to be eligible for a win in 9 inning game?

Pitch count has nothing to do with eligibility to be the winning pitcher. In a scheduled 9-inning game, the starting pitcher must pitch 5 complete innings to be eligible to be the winning pitcher. Relief pitchers must be the pitcher of record when the winning team takes the lead, and never relinquishes the lead, to be the winning pitcher.


Who gets the credit win as a pitcher when the game is tied up 3-3 in the 4th inning and the relieve pitcher comes in and the final score is 6-3 a win?

With no addtional information available, the winning pitcher is the relief pitcher who came in in the 4th inning. Remember, a starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings before he can be credited with a win.


If a starting pitcher throws 3 innings in a seven inning game and no reliever throws more than 3 innings who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.


How many innings must a relief pitcher pitch to get a win?

Unlike the starting pitcher, a relief pitcher has no minimum number of innings pitched. Given the definition of a win, however, it's impossible for a pitcher to achieve it without pitching at least 0.1 inning (one out).

People also asked