answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The win goes to the relief pitcher (assuming there was more than one relief pitcher) whom the official scorer feels was most instrumental in the victory. That relief pitcher must pitch at least 1 full inning, or pitch a crucial out if he pitches less than one inning.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-09-20 11:01:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

291

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.0
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
1 Review

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you determine the winning pitcher when the starting pitcher leaves before completing the 5th inning?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about History

If a starting pitcher throws 3 innings in a seven inning game and no reliever throws more than 3 innings who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.


How does a pitcher earn the win starting leaves the game up 4 - 0. releaving pitcher allows 4 runs. we end up winning by 1 run scoring in the 6th. who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. This could be the relief pitcher even though he gave up four runs, blowing the lead, if said relief pitcher was the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. The starting pitcher, even though he pitched well in this situation, cannot be credited the win.


What pitcher has the highest winning percentage postseason?

im not positive but the best pitcher ever was Lew Gerig


Who gets the credit win as a pitcher when the game is tied up 3-3 in the 4th inning and the relieve pitcher comes in and the final score is 6-3 a win?

With no addtional information available, the winning pitcher is the relief pitcher who came in in the 4th inning. Remember, a starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings before he can be credited with a win.


Who earns credit for winning baseball game?

The pitcher who's team wins the game from the point where the last score was tied. However, for a starting pitcher to get credit for a win they must pitch into the 5th inning and have their team tied or leading at the time .

Related questions

If a starting pitcher throws 3 innings in a seven inning game and no reliever throws more than 3 innings who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.


Winning pitcher rule?

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run is scored.


How does a pitcher earn the win starting leaves the game up 4 - 0. releaving pitcher allows 4 runs. we end up winning by 1 run scoring in the 6th. who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. This could be the relief pitcher even though he gave up four runs, blowing the lead, if said relief pitcher was the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. The starting pitcher, even though he pitched well in this situation, cannot be credited the win.


How many pitches does a pitcher need to be eligible for a win in 9 inning game?

Pitch count has nothing to do with eligibility to be the winning pitcher. In a scheduled 9-inning game, the starting pitcher must pitch 5 complete innings to be eligible to be the winning pitcher. Relief pitchers must be the pitcher of record when the winning team takes the lead, and never relinquishes the lead, to be the winning pitcher.


Will a starting pitcher still get the win if the bullpen lets the opposing team tie the game but then regains the lead later?

No once the game is tied, the winning and losing pitchers will be determined at that time. The winning pitcher will be the pitcher who pitched the last out of the half inning before his team took the lead for good, and the losing pitcher will be the pitcher who allowed the winning run on base


If starting Pitcher leaves game top 9th inning after 1 batter his team is winning the relief pitcher allows score to be tied bottom of 9th original winning team scores and wins. Who gets win?

The last pitcher in during a tie for the winning team gets the win.


Who usually gets credit for winning a baseball game?

Generally, the pitcher who last pitched for the winning team right before the winning team took the lead for good, except that the starting pitcher cannot get credited for a win unless he pitches at least 5 innings (and his team takes the lead for good).


How do you get renown in Mount and Blade?

Winning battles earns you renown, as does winning tournaments, and completing quests.


Who was the winning pitcher of the 2008 World Series?

J.C. Romero was the winning pitcher in game 5 of the 2008 World Series.


Who was the winning pitcher in game 2 of the 2013 World Series?

St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Michael Wacha was the winning pitcher of Game 2 of the 2013 World Series.


Is it possible to be both the winning losing pitcher in one game of baseball?

No, there is no way possible, but it is possible to be a losing and winning pitcher in one DAY!!!


Who was winning pitcher in 1991 game 7 World Series?

Jack Morris was the winning pitcher in game 7, of the 1991 World Series.

People also asked